It is currently Fri May 29, 2020 11:02 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 8:47 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:33 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Virginia
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 21 times in 12 posts
OK----so the Cely that comes with the 485 is single core and doesn't even have hyperthreading.....

Whereas the e4300 is dual core----and has bigger cache and basically EVERYTHING----but is $90

What about this one for $59???

Intel Celeron E1500 2.2GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819116075

It's still a 65W----but looks like it would give off a lower thermal signature----and is dual core and clocked a tad higher than the Cely that comes in the 485.....

_________________
WHS 2011 with 12 TB storage, 5 connected PCs: 1-Win 7 Ultimate 32 Bit, 2-Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit, 2-Win 7 Home Premium 32 Bit, DLink DIR-655 Wireless N Gigabit Router, HP MediaSmart TV, Roku Media Player, Apple TV2, iPhone 4, iPad2 3G


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 4:24 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Why not a quad core Q6600 - idle voltage is only .87 and full load is only 1.5. I know the thermal is 95Watt but I think that maybe quite conservative. It compares favorably with the new low voltage Q9400S which is 65Watt. From my experience in a desktop case, it runs very cool. 20's and 30's vs some dual cores like the E5200 which runs 30's to 40's.
Edit: But then it is the G0 stepping SLACR version of Q6600.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
erail wrote:
Why not a quad core Q6600 - idle voltage is only .87 and full load is only 1.5. I know the thermal is 95Watt but I think that maybe quite conservative. It compares favorably with the new low voltage Q9400S which is 65Watt. From my experience in a desktop case, it runs very cool. 20's and 30's vs some dual cores like the E5200 which runs 30's to 40's.
Edit: But then it is the G0 stepping SLACR version of Q6600.

Based on posts I have seen here, both for the ZEX47x and the EX48x, and over at MediaSmartHome I doubt the MSS would handle 95w. Folks have problems with even 65w,

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:23 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:33 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Virginia
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 21 times in 12 posts
I'm waiting for more reports on the e4300

but I'm betting that Dual Core Cely e1500 would work perfectly....

If i can find one for around $40 somewhere----maybe eBay----I'm going to get it and try....

_________________
WHS 2011 with 12 TB storage, 5 connected PCs: 1-Win 7 Ultimate 32 Bit, 2-Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit, 2-Win 7 Home Premium 32 Bit, DLink DIR-655 Wireless N Gigabit Router, HP MediaSmart TV, Roku Media Player, Apple TV2, iPhone 4, iPad2 3G


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 10:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I would like to bump up my EX485's CPU. I think the built in one is a show pig that takes away from the full potential of WHS. I originally ran WHS on PowerEdge 2900 with 4GB of ram and 2x E5335 Quad core Xeon's and this system ran like a dream! Only downside was that the system was BIG, louder then I wanted and cost $20-25 a month to run.

I like the small case of the EX485 but the CPU's gotta go. Going from 2GB of ram to 4GB of ram with a single core celeron will show little gains if not even reverse gains. IMHO, the best thing to do is to find a DUAL maybe even QUAD core CPU that efficient and is low wattage.

So far what I've seen is that the E4300 and the E5400 work. I've heard people talking about the L3110 low voltage Xeon 45W CPU but no one actually use it, benchmark it and stress test it.

Has anyone tried one of these L3110’s? They are a bit on the costly side $389.99 From Newegg.com but if this sucker works and is well within the thermal limits, I'll pop for the extra cost.
What do you guys think?

"Intel Xeon L3110 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 45W Dual-Core Server Processor - Retail"


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:06 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:03 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have my doubts about the L3110 mostly because of the bus speed. It's 1333. I think we'll have better luck staying with CPUs that match the 800 bus speed of the Celeron it's already using. Something just tells me that Xeon would have trouble adjusting to the EX485 (and vice versa).

I just picked up a EX485 at Frys tonight. It's configuring and updating now. I'm going to let it "break in" for a few days to make sure it's working and then swap out the CPU. I'm going to try to get my hands on an E4600 rather than an E5200 because it's a C2D versus a "Pentium." I wish I had an extra Q6600 lying around just to pop it in briefly and see if it boots. Wouldn't that be crazy if a Q6600 G0 actually ran fine in it and became the gold standard upgrade? We can dream, right?

Anyone upgraded the RAM to a 4GB stick yet to match their new CPU?

[EDIT] Just went around town looking for an E4600 with no luck at all. The only option I was able to find easily was the E5200, so I just picked that one up. I'll upgrade on Monday and post my results. Crossing my fingers for easy-breezy install. I'll need to order that cable in order to get the proc to run at the correct speed, right?

_________________
HP EX485 2GB RAM Intel Dual Core Pentium E5200 CPU 4 x 2TB WD Caviar Green
HP EX475 2GB RAM AMD Athlon LE-1640 CPU 4 x 1TB Seagate


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:29 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:05 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have tried to upgrade the cpu fan and heatsink with no luck with a after market part. The mounting holes on the mother board are unique to the system. My cousin the CNC machinist is making me a custom heatsink for my EX485 MB. the max in height is 29.5 MM for the fan and heatsink assembly. I will be putting this on a Intel core 2 duo E6700 which I have tested with great success in my EX485. I just need active cooling to bring the temps down. Its smokin fast and runs at 1066 bus just fine so far. More test results on the way.

I also tried G-Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK with no noticeable change in speed with the Celeron 450.

The Celeron 450 I tried was a nice improvement in the response time of the server console and the cpu useage never seemed to max out very much in task manager. It performed very well but I love the snappiness of the E6700. In the long run I will settle for the E5200 I sold the E5300 to get the E5200 so I will not have results on it. I think it would work fine.

I am selling the Celeron 440 2.0ghz and 450 2.2ghz. Let me know if you are interested.

I am testing a E5200 until my new heatsink is ready. I cannot figure out why the E6700 will work with out changing the bios setting to no speed stepping and why the E5200 will not run at full speed. I will have to wait until I get a cable to change the bios settings for the E5200
.
Anyone live in Minneapolis that would rent me their cable for vga and ps2 K/M?

The E5200 works fine for now, I also tried a E5300 the EX485 booted but it would not load the OS I figure it would work with some bios changes. It seems like the speed stepping on the MB is not working correctly for some reason.


Last edited by microx on Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:46 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:25 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Is there any place to see the actual power usage of the various CPUs? Quite a few CPUs are rated at 65W, but I don't see very many people trying them. The E5200 is rated at 65W, but there are many rated at 65W. What makes the E5200 the one to go with. What am I missing here? How much more power does a E5400, E6300, or a E7600 use compared to the E5200?

CPU#1
Thermal Design Power: 65W
Thermal Specification: 60.1°C

CPU#2
Thermal Design Power: 65W
Thermal Specification: 74.1°C

From the Intel site, I pulled (2) examples on these these two parameters. Is this enough information to say that CPU# 1 is a cooler running CPU?

_________________
HP EX485, 4GB RAM, Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q9505S (6M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB), 4 x 2TB WD Caviar Green


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:50 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:25 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
microx wrote:
I have tried to upgrade the cpu fan and heatsink with no luck with a after market part. The mounting holes on the mother board are unique to the system. My cousin the CNC machinist is making me a custom heatsink for my EX485 MB. the max in height is 29.5 MM for the fan and heatsink assembly.


What kind of HSF did you try? Did you look at any of the 1U server HSF assemblies?

_________________
HP EX485, 4GB RAM, Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q9505S (6M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB), 4 x 2TB WD Caviar Green


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:08 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Klips wrote:
What kind of HSF did you try? Did you look at any of the 1U server HSF assemblies?


I've been down this road before... (I took precise measurements of the mountings holes in preparation for getting a 1U heatsink machined/modified to fit)

1U heatsinks are the proper height but the bolt pattern used on the Mediasmart is custom.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:28 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:25 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
ymboc wrote:
I've been down this road before... (I took precise measurements of the mountings holes in preparation for getting a 1U heatsink machined/modified to fit)

1U heatsinks are the proper height but the bolt pattern used on the Mediasmart is custom.


Would you post or PM me the measurements that you took? I think it might be feasible to look at this further by either milling down the current heat sink and make room for a fan to be mounted or possibly taking an existing 1U HSF assembly and modifying it to the correct hole pattern. Most likely, it is just wishfull thinking on my part. :wink:

_________________
HP EX485, 4GB RAM, Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q9505S (6M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB), 4 x 2TB WD Caviar Green


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:16 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:13 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Need Help In a big way.
I am not having any luck upgrading my CPU, Frist I drive 30 Min. to a computer Store that has E5400 CPU. I dive all the way home take a part the MSS only to find out that the clerk sold me an E8400 ( I read in one of the Post that CPU would not Work) I returned the CPU for the correct one. I got home all happy, put in the cpu and booted. The post then locks after the Mem test.(Memory 2048 OK) I was never adble to get in to the BIOS . I tried with the J jumper on and Off it was a no go. After playing with it for more then an hour I gave. I put the 440 back in put it all back. together went to boot it. It runs the bios then hags at "Press Shift + f10 to configure.

Need help Please

_________________
MSS 487, 2.25TB on 3WD drives, Intel E5400 C2D 2.7 4Gig DDR2
Windows server 2008 w/Exchange 2010


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:03 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Klips wrote:
Would you post or PM me the measurements that you took? I think it might be feasible to look at this further by either milling down the current heat sink and make room for a fan to be mounted or possibly taking an existing 1U HSF assembly and modifying it to the correct hole pattern. Most likely, it is just wishfull thinking on my part. :wink:
I'd be willing if I still had them... I seem to have discarded them. Use a Caliper to measure the diameter and hole-to-hole distances parallel to the edges and then across the diagonals. If you have a friend who's a machinist they'd be very familiar taking taking these types of measurements.

I don't think a fan-driven heatsink is the way to go unless you don't mind your mss sounding like a jet turbine. I'd start with something like the intel AXXUPHS which is still passive but a much more aggressive design.

kculm: Thanks for the PM, but I can't really help you because I don't have any experience with the EX48x chassis. I'm only able to comment on the heatsink because it hasn't changed from the EX47x series.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank ymboc for this post
kculm
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:16 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:13 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Update..

I installed the Intel E5400.

At frist it would not boot, went in to the BISO and turned a few things on (I am sorry but I forgot the names of the one I truened on I will be re opening box in a day or so to upgrade the Mem to 4gigs and i will look at the names of the settings.and repost)Once I put it all back. I remoted in to it, look at taskman an only one cpu was showing, but about 30 sec in A message poped up telling me windows updated my hardware settings and I need to reboot, so I did. Look in taskman after reboot and all is well. down loaded CPU-z and took the this screen and no clue at what I am looking at (I am a network admin MCITP,EA so all I know how to do is break things). Any input would be helpful.

Thanks


Attachments:
cpu.jpg
cpu.jpg [ 70.39 KiB | Viewed 12413 times ]

_________________
MSS 487, 2.25TB on 3WD drives, Intel E5400 C2D 2.7 4Gig DDR2
Windows server 2008 w/Exchange 2010
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:34 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:14 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I tried upgrading my EX485 to the E5200 last night, no dice. I just get the blinking blue light and the hard drive lights never come on.

I also tried it on two older LGA 775 boards, and I cannot get the BIOS to post on either board. What are the chances that I have a bad chip? I have Pentium Dual Core chips (95W, 65nm) in my other systems. The newer e5200 65W 45nm should post on the older boards, correct? I'm hoping it's just a bad chip.

Also, for the EX485 upgrade to a E5200, do I need to change any BIOS settings, or is it just plug and play like the EX470 AMD upgrade?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group