It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:29 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 702 times in 681 posts
Here is a link to the schematic for the DEBUG Cable: viewtopic.php?p=7555#p7555

Here is a link with a description of an already built DEBUG Board with various configurations sold by VOV Technologies: viewtopic.php?t=8066

I have been saying for years that adding a DEBUG Board to your HP MSS is a great investment.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:27 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:53 pm
Posts: 39
Location: California
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I aquired my cable on ebay from a guy that makes them. I think it cost me about 40 bucks with VGA, keyboard and mouse support. It is in no way as nice as the VOV Technologies debug board but it worked great for me. The guy on ebay indicated that this was probably the last cable he would be making so going with the VOV board might be the only way to go. You might also want to check out the marketplace in this forum.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 3:06 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:04 am
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
just finished updating my BIOS and my EX485 is now running E8200 WHS2011 :)

Attachment:
EX4851.PNG
EX4851.PNG [ 34.48 KiB | Viewed 6639 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:52 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:06 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Question, anyone here installed the Xeon E3110 or L3110? How'd it go? How are the temperatures?
The only posts I've seen about these are from a while ago when they were **** expensive, but now they can be had for so little online


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:18 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Here in Brazil, our climate is very hot. So you think my ex48x Will be work fine without a additional cooler fan on the processor?


Enviado do meu iPhone usando o Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:08 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:53 pm
Posts: 39
Location: California
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
For a 65W processor i would only use it in an area that stays below 80F. My temp on my cpu goes to about 60C when the outside temp is over 80F. At least that is what it is reporting. Hopefully in the future i will be able to come up with a CPU fan set up. I used the 2 small one inch fans in front of the heatsink that someone did on this forum but they were just to loud for me.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:01 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
If any computer can't be used in warm climate, then something is clearly wrong. Either the original design, or the components....

_________________
WHS 2011: Intel S3420GPLX/Intel SC5650UP/Xeon 3470/Hardware RAID 6-Bay Hot Swap/5x1TB RAID 5
WHS 2011: Intel DQ965GF/Core 2 Duo E7500/6GB RAM/5x500GB RAID 5
WHS v1: Asus NRL-LS/Pen 4 2.67 Prescott/2GB RAM/Adaptec SCSI


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:00 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:53 pm
Posts: 39
Location: California
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I agree but the MS in its original design is fine in warm weather. It only gets that hot because of the 65W processor I installed. I don't believe a 65W processor was ever meant to be in a passive cooling system. When I get time I will see if I can fit a very slim heatsink and fan to the processor. I will probably have to come up with my own baseplate. I have a dremel tool and a tig welder so how hard can it be. :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:09 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 9:32 am
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
So out of all the CPU's here was is the most fastest and stable one to put in the ex487?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:39 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi everyone, it is 2017 and I'm trying to upgrade CPU on my EX485. I succesfully installed XEON L5430 on EX490, and expected to do the same on EX485.

Hovewer, this system does not boot when CPU is installed, there is no video output at all. When I put back celeron, it starts and display POST works as should. CPU tested with EX490 and it is working fine.

I did flash hacked 490 bios and did add microcodes in it. I also tried original bios with microcodes, and pure original BIOS.

It there anything I can do? What low power quad core CPU tested for EX480?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
I think it has a different socket type.
the xeon is 771
The ex490 is a LGA775
The ex485 is a LGA775

Don't know why it is working on the ex490
Unless the second cpu is defective.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 1:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:39 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi Ruben, thanks for your reply. Actually, these LGA 711 can be used by modding them into socket 775 which is common upgrade method for old socket 775 systems. I guess many owners of ex490 here might get this update last several years. CPU works even better than modern quad core atoms, thanks to more cache memory and it cost only $10-20.

Sadly, it is not working for me on ex487. I tried another Xeon flavor, 65nm Xeon 3110, and it did not boot too.

I waiting for new power supply and dual core L Xeon to arrive to find out. There are overwhelming evidences on the forum, that quad cores are working on Ex485 fine.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group