It is currently Thu Oct 01, 2020 2:23 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:50 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hey Everyone,

I cannot find my EX485 recovery discs anywhere. I need the desperately to fix up the server. Can someone please send me a copy or give me a place to order I will take either the 2.5 or 3.0 ones.

Please let me know and i appreciate any help anyone can provide.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:43 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
Have you contacted HP support to see if they'll send you replacement discs?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:53 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:24 pm
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
DId you get the disks from HP? If not let me know I can create a disc copy of mine and send it to you.
Sankar


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:30 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Just noticed this thread.....and I know it's old but I am also in need of server recovery discs if someone has an iso file ;) or point me in the right direction. I already contacted HP and since it is discontinued they no longer have the disc.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:24 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Monument, CO
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I too need recovery discs. I call HP support and the support guy said that they don't have them anymore for the EX485 to send out. Too old and they won't do a download because of Microsoft Licensing issues. He suggested I borrow some ... ack! On that note does anyone have some to send me .... please :-) I'll even send you a Priority Mail Label.

Thanks,
Joe


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:39 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
Ya'll need to post your locations in your profile so that people can see where you are located.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:24 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Monument, CO
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks Alex, I just did. I'm in Monument, CO in between Colorado Springs and Denver


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:24 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi, Bob in Dallas. Is the recovery ISO posted anywhere? Maybe we could put it on a server! Any help appreciated. I need the Server Recovery Disk. I have the other two.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:21 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:44 am
Posts: 4
Location: Springfield, Ohio
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
JoeMorgan and Running4Shape, were you ever successful in finding a restore .iso for your EX485? I was just searching for mine for a friend and apparently I have disposed of my own copy. I cannot find any original media that came with my EX485. Please let me know what solution you have found.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:14 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Someone was nice enough to provide me a V3.0, but it has failed on all occasions. I have not been able to figure out why. I keep getting the cant write to the system drive error message when it fails. I am installing a 1T WD Black. I have formatted in 512 blocks, and for now I am out of ideas.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:16 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:44 am
Posts: 4
Location: Springfield, Ohio
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I am still running V2.5 on my MSS. I just thought of another location where my media may be. I will look there later today. If I can locate the recovery disc, I will let you know.

If anyone else has a solution, I am definitely still interested.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:01 am
Posts: 10
Location: Seattle, WA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
HP discontinued EX485 Server Recovery Disc. I have lost mine and my OS HD is getting ready to die. :( Can someone help me out with finding this?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 12:43 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
If your system drive is still functional and can be read then I would recommend you clone it while you can. This will enable you to keep your server online until your able to get a set of disks.

EDIT:

Sorry I forgot to post the link on how to clone a system drive: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010/01 ... tem-drive/

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Comp1962 for this post
jrlohr
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 9:06 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:01 am
Posts: 10
Location: Seattle, WA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for the info. I will give this a try this weekend.

I would still like to locate the Disc in case of failure.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 7:28 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:01 am
Posts: 10
Location: Seattle, WA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks it worked with out any issues. It took longer though for the Clone ~2 hours and then ~10 min for the regedits and reboots.
I had both drives internally attached and going form an almost full 700GB to a new 2TB drive.


I would still like to locate a EX485 Server Recovery Disc in case of catastrophic OS drive failure..


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group