It is currently Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:16 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:29 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:57 am
Posts: 111
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
hi i want to buy new power supply for my ex485 any link ?

Amar

_________________
нρ мє∂ιαѕмαят єχ487 ѕєяνєя
Image

∂ι∂ ѕσмєσηє ωяιтє α ραятι¢υℓαяℓソ нєℓρƒυℓ ρσѕт؟ υѕє тнє "тнαηк ρσѕт" вυттση!ツ


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:59 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Here are the PSU's listed on eBay: http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=hp ... y&_sacat=0

Of all the PSU's listed you will only want to order one from KDM Power or Overtek LTS as they are the only two venders which have confirmed direct replacement PSU's

If you chose KDM Power just inquire which version of the PSU your looking at the one with a single cable or the one with a short cable that requires the Adapter Cable. I have supplies from both venders in use and they sell better quality PSU's then the one which came with your Server.

There is a stock PSU available from someone in I believe Canada in the listing as well.

Watch out for anyone on eBay claiming to sell replacement PSU's as often they include all the other cables that come with the PSU and its not always clear if they rewired the PSU for MSS use.

Good Luck with your search for a new PSU.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:38 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:57 am
Posts: 111
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
HI
i want to buy this one can you check is this gonna fit perfect in my server or i need something els too

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Sevente ... 4176321063


waiting :D

_________________
нρ мє∂ιαѕмαят єχ487 ѕєяνєя
Image

∂ι∂ ѕσмєσηє ωяιтє α ραятι¢υℓαяℓソ нєℓρƒυℓ ρσѕт؟ υѕє тнє "тнαηк ρσѕт" вυттση!ツ


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:45 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
That's a PSU from Overtek and it will fit perfectly fine. Unfortunately it looks like you would have to wait until after Jan 1st until John returns before the PSU could be shipped.

If you like you can read more about Overtek LTD: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2012/02 ... t-servers/

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:34 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
He is looking for a Flex ATX PSU that has the correct wiring for using in an HP MSS. In addition to that all the extra cables that typically come with these would have to be terminated. There are only 2 suppliers which sell direct replacement PSU's for the HP MSS, Overtek LTD and KDM Power. HP never sold replacement PSU's leaving many not to long ago to purchase a FLEX ATX PSU and modify it for use with their HP MSS or DV Server.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:49 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:28 am
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I woke up this morning to find my MSS ex485 powered off, not powering up via button. I have had it since early '09 and been just waiting for the PSU to die, looks like it did as unplgging, waiting, discharge via plug didn't do anything for it. So I ordered the Overtek 300w unit off Ebay for <$65 free shipping. Should be here some time next week or following week per the order page. And I just updated some music on it from my NAS (DNS-323) which is my backup of the files on the WHS (movies/mp3's). Hopefully this will be just a plug-n-play situation once I find the instructions for removal/replacement here and be good to go for a while still.

Wish me luck! ;-)

Mike


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:02 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Has the new PSU arrived and how are you making out with it?

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:02 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 628
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 74
Thanked: 146 times in 106 posts
About a year and a half ago, I thought my EX490 was toast. The original PSU conked out. I ordered the PSU from Overtek and it's been flawless, so I am more than happy to stand behind the quality of that product. Even being shipped from the UK to the US, the shipping was fast. I was very happy!

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:56 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:28 am
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Hi,

Replacement was pretty easy once I looked at it closer once I was taking it apart. Worked like a champ, came right up after I got it put back together.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group