It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:16 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Repair Your Power Supply
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:36 am
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 5 times in 2 posts
EX485 kept rebooting. Forum search of this symptom points to a bad power supply. Voltage levels are OK, but too much ripple in the output can cause repeated rebooting.

I opened up the power supply for my EX485 and noticed most of the filter caps on the output side of the supply were swollen. This indicates that the caps are bad or are going bad. I'm going to attempt to replace all the capacitors, there are about 12, five of which are "pregnant". Wish me luck, there is hardly any room to work and it looks like it might be easy to mess up the circuit board because of the way it is designed. This is not for the feint of heart.
Attachment:
File comment: power supply
powersupply.jpg
powersupply.jpg [ 47.33 KiB | Viewed 10454 times ]


Attachment:
File comment: swollen capacitors
powersupplycaps.jpg
powersupplycaps.jpg [ 95.98 KiB | Viewed 10454 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank demouser for this post
yakuza

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 2:06 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:36 am
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 5 times in 2 posts
Unsoldered the swollen capacitors from the underside of the board. Very easy to do.
The white glue holding everything together is RTV, so it cuts easily.
They are
2200 μF 16V taller than the rest
2200 μF 10V three of them
100 μF 35V the small one
I will replace them with higher voltage rating versions in the hopes they will live longer. You can up the voltage rating a little bit without a problem.
2200 μF 25V (4 of them)
100 μF 50V (a little bigger diameter, but it will fit.)
Note: different power supplies may be used that are laid out different or use different capacitors. Make no assumptions and check your particular power supply. I'm taking a $5 gamble that this will work.
Stay tuned, I need to order the caps, so I'll be back next week.
I decided to follow the Italian philosophy; "If it ain't-a-broke, don't-a-fix it" and am only replacing the swollen caps.


Attachments:
File comment: Capacitors identified
capid.jpg
capid.jpg [ 58.66 KiB | Viewed 10450 times ]
File comment: Capacitors removed
capsout.jpg
capsout.jpg [ 75.19 KiB | Viewed 10450 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:34 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:30 pm
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Very interested to see if this fixes your issues. Had a similar problem with the power supply on our TiVo (circa 2006). Apparently a bad time for eletrolytic capacitors.

Scott


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:28 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:36 am
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 5 times in 2 posts
Caps arrived from Newark Electronics. Any number of suppliers have them. If you are bumping up the voltage level, be aware of the physical size limitations. The three 10V ones that are crowded together must be 10mm diameter max to fit. The 16V one can be upgraded to 25V, but its larger 12.5 mm dia is a squeeze. the 100 microfarad one is no problem space-wise. These are electrolytics, so polarity does matter. The stripe on the cap needs to align with the hole with the dot. Other than that soldering them in is not problem. A fine-tip soldering iron is handy. I did this at home, so no fancy equipment. Check with a magnifying glass for cold solder joints and touch up after trimming the leads.

Yes, new caps fixed the constant reboot problem, but now I have a solid red third light which I think means an operating system issue. I'm guessing 24 hours of rebooting every thirty seconds caused an issue. Fixing it will be tonite's project.


Attachments:
File comment: The parts
theparts.jpg
theparts.jpg [ 33.64 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Caps installed and ready to solder. You may need the bend the leads a little topside to get everything to fit. Don't forget extra flux.
readytosolder.jpg
readytosolder.jpg [ 43 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Soldered in. Not very professional since I didn't have a fine-tipped soldering iron, but it will do.
solderedin.jpg
solderedin.jpg [ 45.41 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Leads trimmed. Inspect solder joints and touch up as needed.
trimmed.jpg
trimmed.jpg [ 39.02 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Top view with new caps. I didn't bother with more RTV caulk. I plugged it in an turned it on to check voltages. Same as before, but presumably without as much AC. I didn't feel like dragging my scope out to confirm.
topviewnewparts.jpg
topviewnewparts.jpg [ 34.07 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Cover back on. Its pretty easy to disassemble and reassemble.
reassembled.jpg
reassembled.jpg [ 22.91 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Ready to install. Dual 25 mm fans are noisy but effective. Thank to the original poster for this idea.
readytoinstall.jpg
readytoinstall.jpg [ 31.85 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
File comment: Powers up and no more repeated rebooting. I accidentally mixed up my two drives so this is what the lights look like when you do that.
disksswitched.jpg
disksswitched.jpg [ 65.26 KiB | Viewed 10383 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank demouser for this post
Comp1962, dianebrat, dianebrat, yakuza
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:53 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:36 am
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 5 times in 2 posts
Did a server recovery (which took 6 hours!), and it looks like everything is back to normal.
It would save having to do a recovery if you can fix the power supply before it gets to the constant rebooting stage and screws up the operating system or hard drives. It might be good to inspect your power supply capacitors when you take your server down for cleaning.
I noticed the EX485 fans run much quieter with new capacitors in the power supply. Maybe if your fans are howling, it's a symptom of a dying power supply.
I estimate the actual time spent to repair the power supply was around 30 minutes or so. Much easier than I thought it would be.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:14 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
Great post, thanks for sharing your work!

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 702 times in 681 posts
Yes indeed very nice post. The other area these PSU's have issues with are the voltage regulators. The fuse which protects the PSU is a pain to obtain. I had to order them twice before getting the correct fuse. Unfortunately these days I do not work on boards like I use to because my hands are getting shaky.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 7:55 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:36 am
Posts: 14
Location: Chicago
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 5 times in 2 posts
Repaired in Nov 2012.
April 5, 2013 and the HP Server has been running just fine.

Moderators; should this thread be pinned?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 10:18 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 60
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I just placed an order, I know my 2200 μF caps are bad, and my replacement power supply didn't work, so knowing the OEM supply worked and has 5 definitely bad caps, I'll replace them and update when they're replaced.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:14 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 60
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
dianebrat wrote:
I just placed an order, I know my 2200 μF caps are bad, and my replacement power supply didn't work, so knowing the OEM supply worked and has 5 definitely bad caps, I'll replace them and update when they're replaced.

That was it, replaced the bulging 2200 μF caps, I'm doing a restore now, lots of "Socket::Read - Timed out" errors even with only a xover cable between the PCs, but process itself is working.

FWIW the 3rd party cheap PS with adapter cable I returned because it didn't fit in the case was surely leading me astray.

Update: The installation is complete, all is fine, the unit can be back in service as needed, but I have a WHS2011 server in its place at the moment.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:29 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:01 am
Posts: 11
Location: Poland
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
nice instruction BUT
no info about ESR!
Capacitors mus be low ESR or ultra low ESR!!!!
look on pdf file for this small one
http://www.compostar.com/Ltec/LXY.pdf
I replace him by HITANO EXR series

second - replace on quiet fan

cheers

_________________
EX470 + AMD X2 +2*2TB WG Green WD20EZRX 2GB RAM + silent Fan MB40201VX-A99 in PSU + APC BACK 350 CS + Grid Junction 1.6


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:57 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Great effort!

One thing to keep in mind is that, the newer power supply is more efficient. 80% gets very common. If the capacitors in the old PS get old, then something else may also fail soon. Maybe time to get a new PS.

It makes more sense with proprietary PS.

_________________
WHS 2011: Intel S3420GPLX/Intel SC5650UP/Xeon 3470/Hardware RAID 6-Bay Hot Swap/5x1TB RAID 5
WHS 2011: Intel DQ965GF/Core 2 Duo E7500/6GB RAM/5x500GB RAID 5
WHS v1: Asus NRL-LS/Pen 4 2.67 Prescott/2GB RAM/Adaptec SCSI


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group