It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:25 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 8:57 pm 

Howdy,

I am not a complete newbie to WHS, having built a couple of home brew servers back to when WHS was being beta tested. But my knowledge of WHS is not enough to help me fix a friends HP Ex485, which quit working recently.

My first thought was to use the recessed button on the front of the Ex485 at boot-up, and what this told me was there was a BIOS error (three red blinks). My hope was that the motherboard battery was just dead; so I replaced it, but unfortunately, still could not get the server to boot.

I then bought the VOV monitor/keyboard/mouse adapter cable for the Ex485, so now I can see the boot up process...but it's completely different from my home brew servers. I have the jumper on JP1, so now I can navigate all around the BIOS settings, and everythging looks fine. Yet, everytime I re-boot the server, it goes straight into the recovery mode and boots up from the BIOS.

Assuming it might be a bad system drive, I bought a new HDD and tried to do a complete Factory Re-installation using the 3.0 Server Recovery Disc. The server recovery disk (in a remote PC) finds the server and the recovery process seems to go well, but on re-boot, the connector software (at the end of the re-installation process) cannot find the server. The server appears to just keep going straight into the BIOS boot-up process.

I also tried putting the (new and original) hard drives in an external USB drive enclosure, and ran check disk on them. They both appear fine and do have an OS on them, so I'm baffled.

One more clue...on my router, I can find the server...using the name “minint-e9avc42”.

So before I do anything more rash, I thought I would see what yall suggested...

Your assistance is much-appreciated!

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!