It is currently Thu Jan 28, 2021 2:24 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:53 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 820
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts
GGKoul wrote:
Just too confirm.. I need to follow these instructions to add NFS to my MSS correct?

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showt ... p?tid=1434


There seems to be some confusion. You will need to install NFS on the MSS if you wish to access your media from the MSS. This will make the MSS act as an NFS "server'.

The PCH can then act as an NFS "client" to access the MSS shares using NFS.

Follow the NFS syntax earlier in this thread to access the MSS from the PCH.

_________________
Richard

My gadget blog: http://www.gadgetinsane.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:28 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have tried all of the suggestions in this thread and the similar threads on the NMT forum, and I still cannot seem to get the Popcorn hour to actually see any of the media files. I get the screen with the 4 icons but when I click on one, say the movie reel, I get a "No media found" error.

Any additional suggestions would be great.

I have:
-verified the NFS server is runnning
-the link I am using is "nfs://ipaddress:/shares"
-I added the guest user to the shares folder security
-I added the ports to the windows firewall, I even briefly turned the firewall off to test, but no go


Thank you,
Eric


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 12:48 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
update the firmware in your PCH and you can uninstall the NFS service. Check the release notes @ network media tanks site

among the many improvements it also includes
Quote:
Improved bitrate throughput of playback over SMB to ~38Mbps, up from ~25Mbps. Same as NFS performance now.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:37 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 820
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts
Coop1 wrote:
update the firmware in your PCH and you can uninstall the NFS service. Check the release notes @ network media tanks site

among the many improvements it also includes
Quote:
Improved bitrate throughput of playback over SMB to ~38Mbps, up from ~25Mbps. Same as NFS performance now.


Good catch Coop1. This should take out the complexities of installing NFS and another thing that could break.

_________________
Richard

My gadget blog: http://www.gadgetinsane.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:23 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:49 am
Posts: 574
Location: Manchester CT
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 17 times in 15 posts
Darn it guys, I am getting addicted to the damn PCH and its all your fault! Spend some time ripping my boxed set of TV shows and then just stream away my life... I kept saying that it was easier to slide in the DVD. I was wrong, wrong, wrong...
Well, I have been accused of being a pusher of the PCH to all of your innocent minds out there, so in fairness I will list the things I don't like!
1. The FF and rewind are pretty honky. The box just sits there for a while and thinks about it before actually doing something. FF is great, rewind sucks.
2. Once I hit the dreaded stop button, there is no going back to Kansas. I have to start all over again using FF.
3. When I have left the PCH pointing towards my computer shares, say, then turn on the PCH when my computer is hibernating, the box take forever to time out. But it is good practice for my button pushing techniques 'cause I just know that some combo will work.

Of course, with the constant tweaking that the excellent PCH team does, they may be gone after I finish this latest update...

That is about it. Wakes up fast, runs smooth as silk, quiet, portable (I just set up a DVI cable and an extra power supply to my other flat screen. Takes seconds to move it, a little longer if I am using the MSS and have to plug in the Lan cable). It is push button goodness once the files are all lined up..

Err, but I hate the box. Truly. That's now fair, isn't it?

_________________
John E Pombrio
Do not meddle in the affair of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:48 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 820
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts
John Pombrio wrote:
Darn it guys, I am getting addicted to the damn PCH and its all your fault! Spend some time ripping my boxed set of TV shows and then just stream away my life... I kept saying that it was easier to slide in the DVD. I was wrong, wrong, wrong...
Well, I have been accused of being a pusher of the PCH to all of your innocent minds out there, so in fairness I will list the things I don't like!
1. The FF and rewind are pretty honky. The box just sits there for a while and thinks about it before actually doing something. FF is great, rewind sucks.
2. Once I hit the dreaded stop button, there is no going back to Kansas. I have to start all over again using FF.
3. When I have left the PCH pointing towards my computer shares, say, then turn on the PCH when my computer is hibernating, the box take forever to time out. But it is good practice for my button pushing techniques 'cause I just know that some combo will work.

Of course, with the constant tweaking that the excellent PCH team does, they may be gone after I finish this latest update...

That is about it. Wakes up fast, runs smooth as silk, quiet, portable (I just set up a DVI cable and an extra power supply to my other flat screen. Takes seconds to move it, a little longer if I am using the MSS and have to plug in the Lan cable). It is push button goodness once the files are all lined up..

Err, but I hate the box. Truly. That's now fair, isn't it?


John Pombrio, I concur with your points 1 and 2 above. It's actually something that discourages the rest of my family from using the PCH - especially my youngest who likes to RW constantly when she views a good part in her show/movie.

I tend to watch "Cranky Geeks" and "DL.TV" via the Web Services portal on the PCH (another plus to the PCH) and it's one of those UI features that annoys me as well where I can't RW AT ALL and prevents the PCH from getting to the next level on par with the Apple TV from a usability standpoint.

As for your point 3 above, you can avoid that issue by centralizing your media to the MSS allowing your PC to hibernate or shutdown entirely and having your PCH access its media from there.

_________________
Richard

My gadget blog: http://www.gadgetinsane.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:23 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
Does anybody have an A-110 yet? I'd like to know from happy users if the new version is any better at some of the known problems.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:25 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
I am still on backorder, and from what i can tell on the website it appears the first batch should be shipping this week or next


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Some replies..
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:06 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:49 am
Posts: 574
Location: Manchester CT
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 17 times in 15 posts
Yep, I use both the MSS and the hard drive on the PCH but sometimes I am too lazy to move the rip immediately over and just use my computer. Only had this once where it pointed to a box that was not on, but now I have the habit of homing the PCH before turning it off.

From the forums, the A110 uses the same processor and firmware as the regular PCH. All reviews and the forum points to the A110 as more of a few tweaks in hardware rather than a full rebuild.

SATA, optical port, and HDMI 1.3 are really the only changes in the box as far as I have read.

Oh, another thing I noticed after the firmware update last night (thanks for pointing it out guys!) is that there is now a network icon in the list. I was able to pull stuff from my sons computer now too. That gives me access to what, 4 terabytes of hard drive space? Heh, I need MORE, MORE!

_________________
John E Pombrio
Do not meddle in the affair of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Hi John,

If you want to speed up things set your ripped folder destination to your shared folder on the server, I do it all the time and never had any problems.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:31 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:49 am
Posts: 574
Location: Manchester CT
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 17 times in 15 posts
Coop1 wrote:
Hi John,

If you want to speed up things set your ripped folder destination to your shared folder on the server, I do it all the time and never had any problems.


Good idea! Old dogs, new tricks...

_________________
John E Pombrio
Do not meddle in the affair of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: cannot do all BD rips..
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 1:55 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:49 am
Posts: 574
Location: Manchester CT
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 17 times in 15 posts
I am having trouble with the PCH A100 playing sound with some Blu-Ray movie rips. I think it has to do with BD version 1 vs. 1.3 ....
So far, I CANNOT recommend the PCH for Blu-Ray watching!

_________________
John E Pombrio
Do not meddle in the affair of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:53 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:18 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Reading, PA
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
DTS-HD is not supported yet, you'll have to encode a straight BD rip into something else for it to work, if it has DTS-HD or the other HD audio, forget what it's called. There's a bunch of messages in the PCH forums about it.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:05 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 820
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts
John Pombrio wrote:
I am having trouble with the PCH A100 playing sound with some Blu-Ray movie rips. I think it has to do with BD version 1 vs. 1.3 ....
So far, I CANNOT recommend the PCH for Blu-Ray watching!


Really and truly, why would you want to rip a 40 GB Blu-ray movie anyway and stream it? Even though disk space is cheap, would it not be easier to put the BD disk in your BD player?

If you are ripping BD, I would think it would make more sense to covert the video to x.264 with AAC/AC3 audio to reduce the size to about half, put it in a MKV container, and watch it on the PCH that way and saving disk space along the way for comparable quality.

With the exception of a BD player or HTPC with PowerDVD, there's no other device that can stream BD reliably yet. I wouldn't consider that a strike against the PCH. If anything, the likelihood of future support is pretty good with the way that Syabas is trending.

So what if the PCH can't stream BD rips. I really wonder how many people are ripping 40GB of BD files to then stream that structure when there are other ways to stream that same high definition video/audio at very comparable quality with less space used.

_________________
Richard

My gadget blog: http://www.gadgetinsane.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
Agreed, I encode my Blu Rays to mkvs (limit file size to 8150GB). This saves a lot of HDD space (I have a spare 500GB HDD in my PC that I use solely to save my Blu Ray rips, but then delete once encoding is complete) and I really see very little difference in quality. I am just about finished storing all my Blu Rays to mkv on my PC, only down side is it takes about 10 hours to do (let it run overnight).

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 14  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group