It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 7:30 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:08 am 
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Hi, I'm new to the whs world. I recently purchased a mediasmart unit with the intention of installing itunes on it to stream to my appletv.

I did my research on this site and others about how to install itunes 9. I did the hacks and got it installed and it worked but there were some issues. When the server started up and when itunes was launched there were some error messages. These were ignorable but bothered me that they were there.

The other issue which was the bigger issue is that sometimes the appletv and itunes wouldn't see eachother requiring a reboot of the server.

In the past i had hacked my appletv to use boxee but found that boxee ran too slow and wasn't worth it and got rid of it by letting my appletv update to the lastest firmware (which gets rid of your hacks).

I had forgot about the fact that xbmc (xbox media center) is installed when you hack the appletv (at least by the method that i had used).

Since hacking the appletv was very easy i decided to revisit it. I read a lot of posts on the xbmc forums and found that the technique to had the appletv was different now that is had a new 3.0.1 firmware but was still easy.

I did the appletv hack and found that using xbmc to stream videos, music and movies from my mediasmart unit was easy and slick.

During this process my original mediasmart unit developed a noisy fan so i rma'd it and got a new unit. On this new unit i loaded in my media but not itunes.

Now i just turn on my appletv and go to the xbmc and play my media. It's a better solution then installing itunes 9 on my mediasmart.

So just a quick overview of hacking the appletv:

step 1: make a usb thumbdrive patchstick. There is an automated program that does this easly. Use the patchstick to enable ssh.