It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:32 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

Post subject: Home Server and Xbox 360
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:50 pm 

Hi All,
I am new to Windows Home server and built my own machine to use Windows Home Server. Right now I just have a 1 tb drive attached to the box. Hopefully down the road will expand.. I have installed updates on the box to make it to use Power Pack 2. I have heard that Power Pack 2 has media sharing possibilities.

Now Xbox 360 is on the network and see the WHS box when I go to Pictures and video section..

I have copied photos in the pictures shared folders and when i access them from the XBox I do not see them.. Media Sharing is enabled in the settings section. Am I doing something wrong?

Can I stream a movie DVD from WHS machine to the Xbox 360? Would I need additional software?

Thanks for any help. I am a noob at this.. bear with me please :)

If this is in the wrong section of the forum, I apologize.

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:34 am 

Gremlin wrote:
Hi All,
I am new to Windows Home server and built my own machine to use Windows Home Server. Right now I just have a 1 tb drive attached to the box. Hopefully down the road will expand.. I have installed updates on the box to make it to use Power Pack 2. I have heard that Power Pack 2 has media sharing possibilities.

Now Xbox 360 is on the network and see the WHS box when I go to Pictures and video section..

I have copied photos in the pictures shared folders and when i access them from the XBox I do not see them.. Media Sharing is enabled in the settings section. Am I doing something wrong?

Can I stream a movie DVD from WHS machine to the Xbox 360? Would I need additional software?

Gremlin,

First off, welcome to the forums :mss: