It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 8:15 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:51 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I just picked up a Sony KDL-55W900a and it have a built in DLNA renderer. I'm wondering what is a good server? I tried PS3media server, it was ok not sure why I disliked it. Im trying Serviio right now seems nice by its not seeing all my content. The TV Supports MKV but some of my content doesn't show at all. What is the best solution or what do you recommend??


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:12 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Not sure how your TV is actually setup but does it have a User Name and Password Setup for connecting to media devices if so then you could setup an account on your server for the TV or use the Guest account which many people do but this is not really my cup of tea its just how I would approach it.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:31 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
No username and password function. It needs software like a twonky to push data to the TV


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 1:03 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1404
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 181 times in 179 posts
My brother in law uses http://serviio.org/ installed on his laptop and data is on a wd My book drive.
He plays it on his tv fine.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:25 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
It looks like your TV supports Plex, and there's some discussion on why some movies may not show up.
http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/top ... subtitles/

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:32 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Thanks Yakuza!! Ive been looking into Plex and this is a good push.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:21 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 252 times in 249 posts
I use serviio and I do know it takes awhile to build the database, I only have about 500 movies and they are 1.5 gig rips and it takes over night for all of them to showup. Now I use MPG format for all mine, the only problem I have is sometimes the audio on my rips, but other then that I like serviio, paid for the newest version and have the beta version addin which works with it.
I could not get twonkey to work on my Samsung tv, it had codec problems so I always uninstall it from the server.

One of these days I will cut the cord on the TV and go with a media box, but not ready for that yet.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: DLNA Server
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Hey a media box works really well and one does not have to screw around with DLNA connectivity and they also play a wide range of formats and are extremely easy to setup. Now an HTPC is really cool but its a costly solution. Media Players start around $100 but there are some which are very expensive. Me I am just happy to get a movie to play over the simple devices.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group