It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 8:57 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:18 am 
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

I purchased an MSS shortly after they came out and have succesfully used it to store my itunes music (library and files on the MSS, program on the PC), stream music to my Sonos system, and stream video to my 3 Popcorn Hour boxes. I did have some problems with video streaming for a time but running a script that turns off DE Migration during the day has fixed this. I have 3 TB of storage in my MSS and now have a need to add more but before I do this I have a question. I am not a computer expert and have about enough knowledege to be dangerous so I need some help thinking through this. I am not using any type of media serving software on the MSS, it's a very basic setup...I have a music folder which I allow iTunes to keep organized and I have a DVD folder with some basic structure that I have setup. As my MSS gets older I wonder if it's not time to let it perform only backups of my computer and begin to move my digital files storage to a simply system like a NAS. Should a NAS work as well for serving music and movies as the MSS? Any thougts as to what I should do?

Mike

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:18 am 
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

If you can find one that's a true NAS (i.e. - hooks directly into a network instead of connecting to a computer that always needs to be on) - there's no reason you would need the MSS for your current set-up.

My biggest reason for buying the MSS was - it's is it's own windows operating system - so I could install itunes on it to serve my apple tv with an "always-on" solution. You can't do that with NAS as far as I know.