It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 5:34 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

Post subject: Slow Network Transfers
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:31 am 
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

First my setup:
-HP Data Vault X310 with 2 x 2TB drives added (a 3rd 2TB to be added soon)
-pyTivo running on the WHS
-Netgear Gigabit switch
-3 TiVo Premier XL's wired to the switch with CAT 5 cable
-Most content stored in mpeg-2 format

My problem is that when I start watching a video program the transfer rate cannot keep up. I notice that when I copy files to the WHS from my desktop computer I get widely varying transfer rates. Sometimes it will be about 10MB/Sec, which I assume is about the max for a 100 MBit NIC and other times it will be down to 1MB/Sec or less. I've been running WHS for about 2 years now, but the X310 is new as is the TiVo's and the 2TB of DVD content ripped to mpeg-2.

I don't know how to get a look into what the WHS is actually doing. I also do not know if there is a software solution to see what is happening on my network. As I understand a network switch the traffic should only be between the two ports that are exchanging data, unlike a hub that sends all data to all ports.

So far if I just transfer from one TiVo to another I have not seen the problem. I can start the transfer and start watching right away and never get to the point where I run out of data.

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:08 pm 

Hi jtcweb welcome to the forums :mss:

The best way to see what your server is doing is to use Remote Desktop Connection. When it asks for the name of the computer you want to connet to just enter your servers name. When asked for the user name enter Administrator and when asked for the password just enter the password you provided to the server.