It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:14 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Posts: 4
HP Update gave me the PVC connector and the McAfee update this morning. After I configured the two add ins, my HP MSS system began to run really really slow. Then I installed PP1, when MSS restarted now my connectors are in need up updating. When I try to install the new connectors I get a failure that Home server mini setup has stopped working.

I then downloaded the client troulbeshooting tool, but that has not helped at all. My client is a Dell XPS 420 running Vista Home Premium.

_________________
Steve Edwards


Top
 Profile  
 

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: PP1 / 1.3
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:51 pm
Posts: 7
Steve - I would suggest letting it churn for a while.

you have some media work going on that will eat up some clock cycles.

see where you are in a day.

Kent


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:40 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Agreed, both those addins are working your servers butt off right now doing indexing and scanning of everything on your server.

In hindsight, we've been recommending users install PP1 first, then the HP 1.3 update, just for this reason. I recommend you let things settle down overnight (including yourself! :D ) and come at it with a fresh perspective tomorrow morning, and I bet things are much better.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:50 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:42 pm
Posts: 362
Location: Bartlett, TN
Then upgrade your ram! :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:24 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 485
Location: NASHVILLE, TN
yakuza wrote:
Agreed, both those addins are working your servers butt off right now doing indexing and scanning of everything on your server.

In hindsight, we've been recommending users install PP1 first, then the HP 1.3 update, just for this reason. I recommend you let things settle down overnight (including yourself! :D ) and come at it with a fresh perspective tomorrow morning, and I bet things are much better.


Well, crap, I did the reverse. I figured the HP update needed to be installed first since it is SPECIFIC to the server.....
Rebooted after that... then installed pp1... No error messages. Just lots of churning.

I did REMOVE the add-ins from the folders, so no issues with that stuff since I'm not going to use them.

*******************QUESTION***************

The 1.3 Update added some CLIENT updates (connector) in an OEM directory, (\\Server\Software\Home Server Connector Software\oem)

and PP1 installed them in the \\Server\Software\Home Server Connector Software directory.

WHICH should I click on ? ? ? ? ? ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: PP1 / 1.3
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:51 pm
Posts: 7
Steve - I would suggest letting it churn for a while.

you have some media work going on that will eat up some clock cycles.

see where you are in a day.

Kent


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: PP1 / 1.3
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:51 pm
Posts: 7
Steve - I would suggest letting it churn for a while.

you have some media work going on that will eat up some clock cycles.

see where you are in a day.

Kent


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:43 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Greg H wrote:
I figured the HP update needed to be installed first since it is SPECIFIC to the server.....

There's nothing more specific to the MSS than WHS. :D

Quote:
*******************QUESTION***************

The 1.3 Update added some CLIENT updates (connector) in an OEM directory, (\\Server\Software\Home Server Connector Software\oem)

and PP1 installed them in the \\Server\Software\Home Server Connector Software directory.

WHICH should I click on ? ? ? ? ? ?


The only update I saw in the oem directory is the new 64bit installer for HP. That should get executed automatically when you do an install of \\server\software\home server connector software\install.exe or setup.exe

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:57 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
To repeat what has been posted elsewhere, if you have a large number of webshare photos the HP update contains a correction that evidently reprocesses these files to produce better preview images. This could take a while if your webshare is large!

Just a thought.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:17 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Posts: 4
Let my MSS sit overnight (14 hours) no noticeable hard drive activity.

Still cannot install client software, same error. Mini setup has stopped working.

Steve

_________________
Steve Edwards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:10 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Please post the exact error message, with a screenshot if possible. Also, info about your config would be helpful (OS version, any firewalls, etc).

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:47 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1
Steve,

I received the mini setup has stopped working error as well while trying to install the Connector software. The error was occurring if I tried to run it through the link in the notification that the Connector software needed to be updated. I found a setup file on the software share that was installed with the update, \\ServerName\Software\Home Server Connector Software. I ran the setup.exe file with administrative rights from this location and it installed fine. Hopefully this may help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:12 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:21 pm
Posts: 61
SteveE wrote:
HP Update gave me the PVC connector and the McAfee update this morning. After I configured the two add ins, my HP MSS system began to run really really slow. Then I installed PP1, when MSS restarted now my connectors are in need up updating. When I try to install the new connectors I get a failure that Home server mini setup has stopped working.

I then downloaded the client troulbeshooting tool, but that has not helped at all. My client is a Dell XPS 420 running Vista Home Premium.


Steve, see my thread here:
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/ ... php?t=1830

Sounds like you have the same issue. Completely uninstall your client and run the full install from the Software share rather than running the mini update. For some reason the mini update seems to completely crash out on all my Vista systems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:14 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Posts: 4
The error message is in the attached screenshot.

I tried the connector install on another PC in our house (this one is XP) and got the same problem

Steve


Attachments:
WHS-connector-error.jpg
WHS-connector-error.jpg [ 36.51 KiB | Viewed 8049 times ]

_________________
Steve Edwards
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group