It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 3:14 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 64-bit connector
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:18 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:13 pm
Posts: 321
Location: FL
Let me make sure I have this right... even if I installed PowerPack1, I still would not be able to install the connector under 64-bit Windows Vista until HP republishes the update that they pulled a few weeks back?

Is this right?

Didn't HP say it was going to be only a few days? Now it has been weeks. Bring it, HP!

_________________
Sue


Top
 Profile  
 

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:34 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 2:04 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Toronto
yap, you are indeed correct...and HP is full of shit when it comes to release dates, just like any other software company...including MS...and especially all the gaming studios...but games are a different story, cause it has alot to do with marketing than the actual code..


anyways...ill stop bitching now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Orlando, FL
I won't be able to install PP1 until I get home this afternoon, but I did get the HP update before and installed it. I wonder if you just need the x64 EXE file for the Connector the HP update installed. If so, I could look at making it available to download for someone tonight.

I am also running x64 Vista and can't wait to get home and be able to finally install the connector with all the features!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:18 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:36 pm
Posts: 232
that is not entirely correct that you have to have HP's update. you can install the connector software that is located in the software\pc connector share folder, but you will not have the added benifit of the iTunes agrigator and other HP specific items. that are installed on the client


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:44 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
It has been suggested that we consolidate all the PP1 discussions into a single forum for now. Yakuza opened the forum.

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/ ... highlight=

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Last edited by JohnBick on Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:03 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:13 pm
Posts: 321
Location: FL
JohnBick wrote:
It has been suggested that we consolidate all the PP1 discussions into a single thread (forum) for now. Yakuza opened the thread; here's the link:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/ ... highlight=

I started a discussion there and would suggest that the PP1 discussions here continue over there...


Huh? I posted under the forum "PowerPack 1 Discussion." A thread and a forum are two different things to my mind.
thread = discussion
forum = subtopics (folders) under the index (hardware, software, general, etc.)

Do I have this wrong? If you only wanted one thread, why was a new forum (folder) created?

Only one thread for everything related to PP1 is going to be far too confusing and tedious IMO.

But if my topic is misplaced, feel free to move it.

_________________
Sue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:22 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
MeSue wrote:
JohnBick wrote:
It has been suggested that we consolidate all the PP1 discussions into a single thread (forum) for now. Yakuza opened the thread; here's the link:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/ ... highlight=

I started a discussion there and would suggest that the PP1 discussions here continue over there...


Huh? I posted under the forum "PowerPack 1 Discussion." A thread and a forum are two different things to my mind.
thread = discussion
forum = subtopics (folders) under the index (hardware, software, general, etc.)

Do I have this wrong? If you only wanted one thread, why was a new forum (folder) created?

Only one thread for everything related to PP1 is going to be far too confusing and tedious IMO.

But if my topic is misplaced, feel free to move it.

Sorry, my confusion! I have edited my original post...

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Confused.
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:04 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
EDIT: I figured out the problem and had a side trip.
I rebooted the MMS.
I went back to the share and tried the install, not setup or the connectorx64.msi.
The install went as exspected.
SIDE TRIP!
I dual boot, win pro 32 and 64 on seperate harddrives. When I loaded I picked the same network/PC name for both. You guessed it, on MMS I had 2 same names for PC backups. I renamed the 64 bit system, rebooted the PC and now all is well.
Both systems are setup with the correct names and backing up only their drive.
All is well.... What a fun hour :-)

I have installed the Final PP1 on MMS.
All my other pc's have updated the connector software and the network is happy.

Now I want to add a Win xp Pro 64bit Pc, so it can be backed up just like all the others.

On the 64bit PC, I went to the share/software/home connector software folder.
I see the connectorx64.msi but when I try to run it is says I can't run it directly, I need to run setup. When I try to run setup, it says wrong OS.

What am I missing?

I did get the console to install, but if I click on anything it errors.

Help me to get the Win xp pro 64 bit setup.
Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group