It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:43 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:38 pm 
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

My wife and I have been using MS Outlook for several years for a shared email account. We've kept the PST files on a NAS and each each laptop has had a copy of Outlook. Works fine with only two limitations: 1.) only one person can have Outlook opened at one time and 2.) we cannot (actually haven't tried) to access remotely.

What is the advantage of using the WHS Outlook Add-in vs just replicating the above configuration on my new EX490?

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:52 pm 

The big difference is the server runs outlook for you so you would have to connect to the server to access your outlook. As I understand it you would first need to install outlook onto your server then install the Add-in which set the access to outlook on your server. It provides a way to centralize the use of outlook which may be of use when multiple people are sharing the same outlook data.

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8

Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:12 pm 
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Comp1962 wrote:
The big difference is the server runs outlook for you so you would have to connect to the server to access your outlook..
Interesting. Actually, it sounds like you have to actually open the WHS desktop to access WHS Outlook. I can't see how this is an advantage.

Comp1962 wrote:
...It provides a way to centralize the use of outlook which may be of use when multiple people are sharing the same outlook data...