It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:42 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

Post subject: hMailServer setup
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:21 am 
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Hey guys, all i need to do is be able to recieve an email sent to me@mydomain.net

Anyone setup hMailServer on thier WHS successfully? I've been playing with it all morning, but i'm at the point where i think i might have it working, but i'm not sure how to configure MS Outlook 2003 to send/recieve email using hMailServer. I"ve been reading the forums over at HMailServer.com but to my surprise, i'm unable to find out how to set this up. Keep in mind, i have zero experience in setting up an email server.

Here is what i've done so far:

- Installed hMailServer on my WHS successfully
- verified i can telnet to my WHS mydomian.net port 25
- forwarded ports 25, 110, and 143 to my WHS in my router and excluded the hMailServer.exe in my WHS firewall
-configured my Domain in the hMailServer administrator console following the tutorial http://computingondemand.com/?p=932
- verified my domain MX host is setup correctly at DynDNS.com

All i want to do is recieve or send email using "me@mydomain.net" <obviously replacing that with MY actual domain info>. My domain is setup and pointing to my WHS properly, i can log into it via RDP and the WHS HP webpage to access shared folder with no problems.

How do i configure Outlook 2003 to send/recieve email using my hMailServer?

Image Image

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: hMailServer setup
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:09 pm 
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

You'll need to add an account pointing at the hMailServer. It may be something like this; imap@mydomain.net (or pop@mydomain.net) and smtp@mydomain.net. I should think that somewhere you indicated what type of server you were setting up (POP or IMAP).

Thanks