It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 9:05 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:44 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:21 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Add-In title: Twonky Media Server 5.1.1 Update
Download link: new users not allowed to post links.

Fair warning to other HP 490 owners. If you install this update, then the Twonky config page (homeserver:9000/config) displays a "Your trial version has expired" message and presents an input box for a serial number.

I don't have a serial number.

I wish the install process had checked to see if my system would still work after upgrading.

The odd thing is I haven't yet figured out what, if anything, isn't working as a result of the "expired" trial.

I also am not sure what to do next; any ideas?

thanks!!


Last edited by glowrocks on Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank glowrocks for this post
Harty01

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:13 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:52 am
Posts: 260
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 31 times in 29 posts
Yikeys!

I would try uninstalling Twonky from the addins under Settings, then deleting the installer for the updated one from the Software\Addins directory and then reinstalling the original one.

_________________
\:D/ Click on Thank Post if I've been helpful! \:D/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:06 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:21 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Thanks for the idea.

Interestingly enough, the new version is listed as an available add-in in the settings page w/in the console app. When viewing serverhost:9000/config the version number is listed as 5.1.1 (before it was whatever the default was, a beta or RC version IIRC).

Also, I'm not sure how I would go about installing the original version w/out doing a full system restore ...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:16 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
In the 3.0 software, Twonky is integrated into the HP install and not available as an Add-In. :( If you're not able to manually repair things then you'll likely need to perform a Server Recovery. Do let us know how this ends up working out.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:42 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:21 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Thanks for letting me know. I guess at least my experience may help another newbie! I am surprised that the Twonky s/w doesn't handle this any better.

At least you said "server recovery" and not "factory reset." That makes a big difference! Also, at this point, I really can't tell what's NOT working; the only indication of a problem is the warning message on the main twonky config screen.

I'll post an update if/when there are any changes.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:45 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:21 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I did a "Server Recovery" today which resolved the problem caused by adding in the non-HP provided Twonky media server upgrade.

The server recovery went well, taking under an hour.

*Many* hours later, the box and all clients were all patched, in sync w/the right versions and so on. In other words, it sucked for a while; I installed and patched both clients and server I don't know how many times.

I think maybe the recovery image on the DVD was a bit older than what shipped w/the unit, which caused the confusion in terms of doing all of the required upgrades. I had no problems out of the box, which also supports that theory.

Anyway, the good news is server recoveries do work; I lost no data and things are looking good!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:57 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
For $15 you can buy a new serial number. I am wondering if the upgrade is worth it and if it works with the HP mediasmart ex series (I have an ex495). I think the twonky software as installed by hp is flaky - it's speed varies dramatically and sometimes it shows up and sometimes it doesn't on my sony bravia tv. Also flaky when attempting to stream through the hp streaming browser page. If the upgrade fixes any of this and doesn't break the rest of the HP install, I would be in. Does anybody have any experience or advice on this?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:30 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:49 pm
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
rgfcpq,

I agree. The Twonky/HP software is a bit flaky. On my Sony XBR9, i'm able to access both photos & music but not videos. How about you? What media/content types (e.g photos,music,videos) files are you able to access?

thanks,
Harty01
EX490 - E7500


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 2:28 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
That is the EXACT problem I have. Plus, it flakes out periodically when trying to access content through the streamer via the web page. Especially bad with higher quality videos or videos not ripped with the HP converter software.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:32 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
twonky in an form is junk. I have tried to love it many times....
i always end up going back to tversity.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:01 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:56 pm
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I notice that Twonky now has a 5.1.2 version for WHS on their website. No word on whether it works.

I'm still trying to get Twonky to work with my Popcorn Hour C-200, and it just doesn't seem to see it. The one option under "Media Servers" that appears close is "Syabas Firmware-Based" although I've also tried the generic DLNA options. I was hoping that an update from 5.1 to 5.1.2 might help, but I'm not willing to risk breaking the existing install.

_________________
Everyone gets everything he wants. Me, I wanted to be a sysadmin. And for my sins --they made me one.
HP EX490, 4GB, Pentium DC E5300, 1x 1TB(Seagate), 3x 2TB(Samsung), 1 x 2TB eSATA (Hitachi)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 1:22 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 5:37 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thought I'd bump this, seeing as HP isn't updating more, and Twonky is now on Version 6.0.32

Anythoughts as to whether an updgrade (likely via paid license) would be an improvement for an EX495 relative to where HP's Twonky updates stopped?

Video on HD formats is a problem for me on the old, HP included version, so I've disabled video streaming and just use it for music and photos.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:02 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 1386
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 64
Thanked: 137 times in 135 posts
If I could find some way to have just DLNA, I would uninstall Twonky in a heartbeat.
I don't really need stuff streamed on the net and We can get to our movies/music/videos from the shared folders.

I tried Twonky 5.1.6 add-in and that was a bust also. Even paid for a license, Waste of money that they don't deserve.
Funny thing is it worked for the trial period, then I used my 6 license number which worked, then it all started having errors.

I have given up, I would battle to the end if it was worth it, but it's not.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510/SSD WhSv1 test] [X510 /in box] :crazy:
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group