It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:25 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 144 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:36 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
My thinking here is based on the issue seemingly not happening on pages that don't need MySql (i.e. the test script and the PMA login page). I started to see either the Access Violation message or a 500 Server Error. I went with fastcgi and got their own version of the Access Violation "The FastCGI Handler was unable to process the request" then started dabbling with libmysql.dll based on another post. This seems to do the trick and I can get the error back by undoing the rename of the mysql version. My guessing is that either or both get called and try and handle the mysql stuff and conflict, so removing the mysql one seems to make things stable, at least on mine.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:44 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi
I have installed the PHP installer and i think there is a problem? please can someone help?

If you create a file called phpinfo.php and include this

<?
phpinfo();
?>

you get the phpinfo page :), but create a file called hello.php and put this into it

<?
echo "Hello world...";
?>

then all i get is a blank page. No errors?

Can any one help please

Many thanks in advance

John
all start 'http://'

bigfooters.homeserver.com/rb/index.html - works
bigfooters.homeserver.com/rb/phpinfo.php - works
bigfooters.homeserver.com/rb/index.php - not work


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:07 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Try:

Code:
<?php
echo "Hello World...";
?>

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Cougar for this post
Hellstormer
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
That works a treat, Many thanks :) :whs:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:31 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi Cougar,

On the wiki for install PHP on WHS, there is a mention about Wegotserved.com being hosted on a WHS server.

Do you by any chance know how to get a domain, like www.domain.com, to be hosted using a home WHS server?

I have a website for my daughters that I want to be hosted from my home.

Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:29 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Hopefully Terry is lurking somewhere and can cover what WGS is running on; but I'd guarantee it's not on WHS. Pretty sure his ADSl wouldnt cope with the traffic he is getting.

There are many different ways to skin this cat; but really it comes down to what options your provider has given you with regards to managing your domain name. Mine allows me to redirect it to an alternate domain name, which is a really simple option and achieves the result so I would check into the ISP end first.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok, thanks. :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:37 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
Someone I have been talking to had a question if anyone has any ideas (I will encourage him to sign up here to continue the discussion :mrgreen: )

Quote:
This project runs from php which means its IIS running it. you need to give permission for the user IIS is running as to have access to the video files. I have been using the IUSR_WHOMESERVER which is the internet guest user but on a WHS reboot the permissions is removed.

1: Is this the best user to add
2: is there a better user or a group that should get added.
3: can I do it in the shares folder or do I need to give access to another folder.

Basically, how can I give the Videos share folder permission for IIS/php to access it where its not lost on a reboot.

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:21 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10735
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 630
Thanked: 931 times in 885 posts
This may help.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:11 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:45 am
Posts: 81
Location: Midlands UK
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
My WHS seems to have settled down, and is running great again (had a few teathing problems)

My question is will I be able to access a web page from my server if I cant access my http://myname.homeserver.com from within my own home ?

I can see my server from other peoples connection, and I can even access all my files from there to, but from home I cant, apparently this is normal.

My question is if using php say if i installed the wordpress plug-in cougar has made would I be able to access it from home ? so I can manage it ?

( I dont want to install php, mysql and then wordpress if I cant)

Just thought some one here might know before I did go ahead.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:13 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:45 am
Posts: 81
Location: Midlands UK
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Think ive just found the answer to my own question

viewtopic.php?p=46731#p46731

Quote:
if you have issues accessing your domain internally you may want to ensure you have a hosts file set-up on your pc so the page renders the same as it would externally.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:20 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:14 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Just installed PHP with this excellent addin. The hassle I have had installing PHP on other windows machines nearly made me cry bit this was so easy. Already tested with a HelloWorld page and all looks great.

Next step is to install MySQL. I plan to use WHS to run a small invoicing/inventory/printing application for my wife business and this (I hope) will be the answer.

Excellent work Cougar!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 9:55 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:25 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
hi, have posted same message but in wrong place (whs php beta).

my default, wwwroot is created into c:\inetpub\

but i would like modify this path like that d:\share\web\
do you now how i can do that without use IIS ?

thank's you


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:37 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
As all of the WHS pages use that structure; i wouldn't recommend it. You'd also need to use IIS to do anything there as it's already configured. Are you wanting to host additional files on D rather than C? If so; then using Virtual Directories in IIS is the only way I can think you could achieve this.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Cougar for this post
enigmatiqk
 Post subject: Re: WHS PHP Installer
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:28 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:58 am
Posts: 97
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Thanks: 36
Thanked: 8 times in 8 posts
A very welcome friend to the IIS world :) Thank you!!

_________________
Have you backed up your data lately?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 144 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group