It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:33 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:26 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 34
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks, A reboot seems to have removed he errors

_________________
- Bill
EX 475 Version 3 Patch 2
2GB Patriot Memory (what a difference)
BIOS Patched for X2 processor
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (ADD3800IAA5CU)
Addins: MSS Fan Control, Grid Junction, LightsOut (Paid), RemoteAlert


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:40 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:30 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi,

I have installed MSS fan control and since then, I get hardware errors all the time saying "The HP MediaSmart Server CPU is running too hot" and "The HP MediaSmart Server fans are not running at the proper speed". If I select optimized default or factory settings and click apply, the problem re-occurs after a day or so. I only use factory settings or optimized defaults to begin with. I do't mess about with the settings to make the fans go too slow. When these errors happen my hardware status is the following:

CPU: 31 degrees
Upper fan: 1500 rpm
Lower fan: 1500 rpm

I have tried removing the add-in but the problem still occurs even though the hardware status looks ok.

I'm wondering if it something to do with when the server comes out of hibernation because I have Lights out add-in installed also. Has anyone else had this error with this add-in?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 6:53 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 34
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I get a higher temp 39 degrees Centigrade almost all the time, sometimes 40.

Don't know what normal is or valid range of CPU Temp.

Attachment:
File comment: Fan, Temp Voltage at this moment
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG [ 4.83 KiB | Viewed 7306 times ]

_________________
- Bill
EX 475 Version 3 Patch 2
2GB Patriot Memory (what a difference)
BIOS Patched for X2 processor
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (ADD3800IAA5CU)
Addins: MSS Fan Control, Grid Junction, LightsOut (Paid), RemoteAlert


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:56 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Most likely your .ini file is corrupt, you can learn how to resolve that here.
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3333&start=0

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:46 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:30 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
thanks working fine now


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:14 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I've just replaced HP MediaSmart EX 470 case fans with a couple of Nexus silent PWM fans. Well, to my disappoitment the replacement fans turned out to be much noiser than the originals. I realized that the new fans run at much higher RPM, everything else is equal. The new fans also have a bit higher CFM rating so the higher RPM isn't really needed. In fact with the new fans running at 50% the CPU temperature was just 28C.

I tried SpeedFan first, then quickly discovered MSS Fan Control Add-In. It works great but unfortunately it is assumes the original fans and limits fand speed adjustment in automatic mode to +/- 250 RPM. It would be great it it allowed an advanced mode that would allow me a greater degree of adjustment.

For now I am just using the constant speed mode. At 25% the new fans seem to provide adequate cooling. The CPU temperature is 30C and fan speeds are around 1400 RPM. I haven't tried stressing the server yet.

Should I just try to edit the registry setting directly?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:52 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
Try the 'optimized defaults' button... it follows the factory temperature vs speed curve but lowers the thresholds for the different levels by 20 degrees across the board.

If you want even more cooling you can lower those thresholds even more manually by turning on advanced controls and adjusting the sliders beyond '-20'

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:04 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
silent voyager wrote:
I tried SpeedFan first, then quickly discovered MSS Fan Control Add-In. It works great but unfortunately it is assumes the original fans and limits fand speed adjustment in automatic mode to +/- 250 RPM. It would be great it it allowed an advanced mode that would allow me a greater degree of adjustment.

For now I am just using the constant speed mode. At 25% the new fans seem to provide adequate cooling. The CPU temperature is 30C and fan speeds are around 1400 RPM. I haven't tried stressing the server yet.

Should I just try to edit the registry setting directly?


What would you like ideally? ymboc's suggestions should work well, but I'm open to input on what you'd prefer to see.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
What would you like ideally? ymboc's suggestions should work well, but I'm open to input on what you'd prefer to see.


Ideally I would like it to be less noisy because it is in the office. With default settings running at 50% Nexus fans run at about 2250 RPM and that makes them quite loud. Applying optimized defaults would make the situation even worse because it would apply more aggressive cooling policy.
I would like both fans to normally run at about 25% - about 1400 RPM and automatically increase the speed if the CPU temperature raises. So the ideal situation for me would be to keep the same or slightly lower temperature points but shift the speed percentages down at all temperature points.

Anyway it seems that my requirement is unique because I am trying to use non-standard fans. So feel free to ignore it.

And there is another issue that I wanted to mention, not sure if it is related to FanControl or not. I use LightsOut add-in that hypernates the server nightly. When my server comes out of hypernation both case fans speed up to full trottle and stay there until I either restart the server or RDP to it and adjust the speed with SpeedFan.

I have already experimented with setting my own RPM speeds directly in the registry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\WNAS\Parameters\FanControl. It seems to work fine but as soon as the server resumes from hypernation it is back to 100%.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:43 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:36 pm
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Any hope of getting this for WHS 2011?

I recently installed WHS 2011 on my old HP EX 475 (upgraded with 2gb ram and a dual core AMD BE-2300). The cpu is running a tad bit hotter than the original, but on WHS 1 the MSS Fan Control add-in solved my heat issue by turning up the rpms a bit.

Now on WHS 2011 I sometimes get unexpected shotdowns and I think they might be related to heat. But I have no way of monitoring the fans or turning them up.

I have the VGA debug board so I can fiddle around in the BIOS. I see there are some fan/temp setting there, but they are all disabled.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX475 updated with 2GB ram and AMD BE-2300 dual-core CPU, running WHS 1.
Custom server with Intel Core2 Quad, 8 GB ram running WHS 2011.
http://blog.codewrench.net/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Same issue as the LED controls, there needs to be the underlying driver plus registry keys.
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=10566

Edit: I realized I didn't really answer your question. :) At this time I don't have plans to port this to WHS 2011.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:01 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:36 pm
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Installed SpeedFan on WHS 2011 on the EX475. Works a treat and the fans are now keeping the CPU cool.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX475 updated with 2GB ram and AMD BE-2300 dual-core CPU, running WHS 1.
Custom server with Intel Core2 Quad, 8 GB ram running WHS 2011.
http://blog.codewrench.net/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:06 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 195
Thanks: 17
Thanked: 10 times in 9 posts
yakuza wrote:
At this time I don't have plans to port this to WHS 2011.


Shoot! I'm still looking for a solution for my DataVault :?

I'm going to have to figure out how to hotwire a fan to just be on at this point, I think...

EDIT - I did some reading and in the end I found that if I just unplugged the fan and bent the pin for the blue wire down so it no longer connected, the fan runs at full speed - which is fine for me as this server is in a server room.

Problem solved!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:21 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:03 am
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Is there anything at all for the ex495? My HD fans are keeping my HD's in the high 90's which I don't like.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:57 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
The only way I know of is to purchase the vga interface card and access the bios to change the fans settings.
It also is not intuitive to change.
Since it is a pid loop
Several settings to look at.
I was successful in ramping up the default rpm, but I had to disable a option to allow me to do so.

Also what is the 90's, C or F?
for F it is not that high.
Since most drives are rated at 60+ C which is 140 F

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Last edited by Ruben Rocha on Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group