It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 2:25 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:14 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:08 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
is there a possible best way to have a dual 1Gb network cards running on the x510

I have a spare Belkin USB 1GB Lan Device and would thing it may increase server thru put , but adding it in a wrong way or even adding it may cause issues with backups etc

_________________
HP StorageWorks x510 Data Vault - Stock ( upgrading soon to Q9550s with 4GB DDR2 )
QNAP TS-259 Pro


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:07 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
My guess would be it won't help, I don't think we use all of the throughput with the one it has.
And worse case (if you don't have the video connector) it might cause you to lose contact with the box and have to do a restore.

I wouldn't do it. But I have had enough reset/restore and am happy with what I have for storage. It looks like you have maxed out all the parts on yours now, are you one of those that has to be upgrading something, I am, maybe we like PAIN :rofl:

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:15 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I do have a question for ya, or maybe a request.

When you upgrade [Stock ( upgrading soon to Q9550s with 4GB DDR2 )]

I am wondering what kind of power this is going to give the VAULT Will you be ripping? Will you be converting?
And I am wondering what kind of heat is added by this CPU like Before upgrade idle temp n after upgrade idle temp.
Also, before upgrade working temp n after the upgrade working temp.

Maybe when you have upgraded you could post some numbers for us all and what you are doing with that new power.

Money wise I don't think I will be able to go quad core and will instead go the fastest dualcore for half the price.
I don't think the server will use the quad core and it will be a waste of money, but I wonder if the is true.

Give a shout out if you would, I think more then myself would be interested. THX

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group