It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 4:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:09 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Texas
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I'm done, well almost.

Set up my EX495 and it came off without a hitch (almost)
I had an issue with "Enter Network Password" when accessing files on the server. I didn't have a network password. One line in the user guide says that the administrator account's name is always administrator. I tried that with my Home Server Console password and voila, I'm in.

While working on this the 3 Hitachi 2TB drives arrived via UPS so I installed them. The drives are silent. No more noise than the Seagate drive that came with the MSS.

(1) What do you think of this idea? I'd like to keep this as clean as possible. I have movies, documentaries, Independent Lens (PBS), and Masterpiece Theater, on a 3TB external. Connect the external to the MSS with HP Easy USB and copy the movies, documentaries (248 of them), etc. to the MSS.
Set up shares on empty movies folder on the PC so whatever I rip to there goes to the server too. Server will have folder duplication on so they would all be in 3 places, server, server and external drive.

(2) Will the MSS recognize the 3TB drive and can I copy from it? I have read the 3TB thread but am still unclear on whether I can just copy from one.

(3) Lastly, for today at least, I put the box the MSS came in on a flatbed scanner and scanned all the information and did the same with each of the drives. OCD? Maybe, but if you have ever tried to dig a piece of equipment out of a rack to get the model number and S/N off the bottom or back where they hide it maybe you could appreciate it.

Thanks for all the help. This is fun.

Kubla Khan


Attachments:
Hitachi 1 Drive.jpg
Hitachi 1 Drive.jpg [ 279.5 KiB | Viewed 9775 times ]

_________________
--------------------------------------------
Ex495 3 x Hitachi 2TB Deskstar
WDTV Live Plus
Escient Fireball MX111
Puget Silent Tower (Win 7 Pro), Sony All-In-One (Vista), Sony Laptop (XP)
1 Seagate Goflex Desk 3TB USB3
1 Buffalo 1TB
1 Seagate 750 Gig
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:33 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Central IL
Thanks: 54
Thanked: 17 times in 16 posts
I like the scanning idea. I did that with my wife's laptop and had to send the box scans to HP to get the Windows 7 upgrade shipped to me. They appreciated seeing the data from their own shipping labels with dates!

_________________
EX475 2GB memory
Stock Processor
1 2TB HP Personal Media Drive via USB
1 2.0TB Barracuda® XT 7200 rpm drive
2 1.5TB Seagate Barracuda® XT SATA 7200 rpm drives
1 0.5TB stock drive shipped with MSS
Running HP 3.0 updated software


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:45 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I tried to reply to your thread but Im not sure where my post went. Thats happened 2x now. Ill give you the basic shorter answer.

No. The home server show has a show called BYOB in episode 19 in itunes, they go over this drive. they talk about the limitations of current hardware and some about vail and the MSS WHS V1


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:01 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Central IL
Thanks: 54
Thanked: 17 times in 16 posts
Tbone, is this an advanced format drive (the OP's Hitachi)?

_________________
EX475 2GB memory
Stock Processor
1 2TB HP Personal Media Drive via USB
1 2.0TB Barracuda® XT 7200 rpm drive
2 1.5TB Seagate Barracuda® XT SATA 7200 rpm drives
1 0.5TB stock drive shipped with MSS
Running HP 3.0 updated software


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I dont think they are. wegotserved there is a thread asking the same question about AFD. No one knows for sure Im going to say it isnt.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:20 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Texas
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
It's a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3 TB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive STAC3000100 upgraded to USB 3. Nothing in the documentation says it is a AFD. The docs are not very comprehensive though.

Kubla

_________________
--------------------------------------------
Ex495 3 x Hitachi 2TB Deskstar
WDTV Live Plus
Escient Fireball MX111
Puget Silent Tower (Win 7 Pro), Sony All-In-One (Vista), Sony Laptop (XP)
1 Seagate Goflex Desk 3TB USB3
1 Buffalo 1TB
1 Seagate 750 Gig


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:21 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Texas
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Oops, you meant the Hitachis. They are not AFD.

Kubla Khan

_________________
--------------------------------------------
Ex495 3 x Hitachi 2TB Deskstar
WDTV Live Plus
Escient Fireball MX111
Puget Silent Tower (Win 7 Pro), Sony All-In-One (Vista), Sony Laptop (XP)
1 Seagate Goflex Desk 3TB USB3
1 Buffalo 1TB
1 Seagate 750 Gig


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:44 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Central IL
Thanks: 54
Thanked: 17 times in 16 posts
Kubla Khan wrote:
It's a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3 TB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive STAC3000100 upgraded to USB 3. Nothing in the documentation says it is a AFD. The docs are not very comprehensive though.

Kubla


That is AFD. Pretty sure that MSS will see it as a 2.1Tb drive if you plug it into the USB port on the MSS...but I am not 100% sure. Plug it in and see what happens; don't allow it to be formatted of course!

If you have another external drive that is not 3TB, you might have better success copying to that and then taking the files onto the MSS from there. I KNOW that will work!

Jim

_________________
EX475 2GB memory
Stock Processor
1 2TB HP Personal Media Drive via USB
1 2.0TB Barracuda® XT 7200 rpm drive
2 1.5TB Seagate Barracuda® XT SATA 7200 rpm drives
1 0.5TB stock drive shipped with MSS
Running HP 3.0 updated software


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jam3ohio for this post
Kubla Khan
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:37 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Texas
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks I think I will use the 1TB Seagate drive. I have used it for backup and it has a lot of the stuff on it anyway. Or maybe...... If I attach the 3TB drive will it show up in disk management?

_________________
--------------------------------------------
Ex495 3 x Hitachi 2TB Deskstar
WDTV Live Plus
Escient Fireball MX111
Puget Silent Tower (Win 7 Pro), Sony All-In-One (Vista), Sony Laptop (XP)
1 Seagate Goflex Desk 3TB USB3
1 Buffalo 1TB
1 Seagate 750 Gig


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:45 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Central IL
Thanks: 54
Thanked: 17 times in 16 posts
Kubla Khan wrote:
Thanks I think I will use the 1TB Seagate drive. I have used it for backup and it has a lot of the stuff on it anyway. Or maybe...... If I attach the 3TB drive will it show up in disk management?


Kubla

(Nice handle by the way!) I THINK that is will show up as a 2.1TB drive, but I have not done this myself so I am not sure. I AM sure that your 1TB drive will show up and work just fine; I would suggest that you use that.

Of course, if you are like me and are a little adventurous, :lol: , plug in the 3tb drive and tell us how it goes...

Jim

_________________
EX475 2GB memory
Stock Processor
1 2TB HP Personal Media Drive via USB
1 2.0TB Barracuda® XT 7200 rpm drive
2 1.5TB Seagate Barracuda® XT SATA 7200 rpm drives
1 0.5TB stock drive shipped with MSS
Running HP 3.0 updated software


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Texas
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I will attach the 3TB drive to the MSS and see what shows up. It will be a few days as I had to order a USB 2 adapter for the drive. May need that someday anyway. I will post a message when I see what it does.

Kubla Khan

_________________
--------------------------------------------
Ex495 3 x Hitachi 2TB Deskstar
WDTV Live Plus
Escient Fireball MX111
Puget Silent Tower (Win 7 Pro), Sony All-In-One (Vista), Sony Laptop (XP)
1 Seagate Goflex Desk 3TB USB3
1 Buffalo 1TB
1 Seagate 750 Gig


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:31 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Central IL
Thanks: 54
Thanked: 17 times in 16 posts
http://usingwindowshomeserver.com/2011/01/12/paragons-gpt-loader-available-for-windows-home-server-v1-early-adopter-program/

Perhaps we will be able to use 3tb drives in our v1 WHS? Keep an eye on this one...

Jim

_________________
EX475 2GB memory
Stock Processor
1 2TB HP Personal Media Drive via USB
1 2.0TB Barracuda® XT 7200 rpm drive
2 1.5TB Seagate Barracuda® XT SATA 7200 rpm drives
1 0.5TB stock drive shipped with MSS
Running HP 3.0 updated software


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 1:00 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:56 pm
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
jam3ohio wrote:
http://usingwindowshomeserver.com/2011/01/12/paragons-gpt-loader-available-for-windows-home-server-v1-early-adopter-program/

Perhaps we will be able to use 3tb drives in our v1 WHS? Keep an eye on this one...

Jim

I read that with great interest. Unfortunately, the article says that external drives are not supported.

I currently have a 2TB drive in a single-drive eSATA enclosure for backing up my EX490. I'd very much like to replace that 2TB with a 3TB drive, but am doubtful I'll have that option, and that a multi-drive eSATA enclosure will be my only option for the future.

_________________
Everyone gets everything he wants. Me, I wanted to be a sysadmin. And for my sins --they made me one.
HP EX490, 4GB, Pentium DC E5300, 1x 1TB(Seagate), 3x 2TB(Samsung), 1 x 2TB eSATA (Hitachi)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 1:38 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 628
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 74
Thanked: 145 times in 106 posts
Kubla Khan wrote:
It's a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3 TB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive STAC3000100 upgraded to USB 3. Nothing in the documentation says it is a AFD. The docs are not very comprehensive though.

Kubla

I have a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 2 TB USB 2.0 that I bought at Costco. Like yours, there's not a lick of information on the package, or on Seagate's website itself, that says Advanced Format. Only when I upgraded the version of HD Sentinel I had installed on my EX490 to 3.50 did I realize that this disk was indeed an advanced format disk! I was unhappy to say the least.

Needless to say, I was worried about data corruption so I ran Paragon's Paragon Alignment Tool against this disk and aligned the partition correctly (since the WHS disk import wizard so graciously obliterated the correctly aligned one and laid down a new one with a legacy 63 sector offset (misaligned on AFDs)).

It was a painful process. The alignment took 21 hours, and then I had to play all kinds of games in the Registry to get the disk recognized by the Home Server Storage Manager service. But once I did that, life was good.

So my guess is that your 3 TB Seagate is indeed an AFD. Download HD Sentinel 3.50 (http://www.hdsentinel.com) and go to the information tab. You need to install this via Remote Desktop on your WHS.

Here's a screen cap from my WHS -- I've selected the disk in question and this tool reports it as an AFD.
Attachment:
File comment: Yikes! It's an AFD!
Seagate 2TB AFD.JPG
Seagate 2TB AFD.JPG [ 153.07 KiB | Viewed 6441 times ]

Danke,
Matt

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group