It is currently Thu Oct 21, 2021 6:36 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:01 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Wegotserved has an article up that MSE is now compatible with WHS.

http://www.wegotserved.com/2010/07/20/w ... s-working/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank T-Bone for this post
Gardian

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:02 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:53 pm
Posts: 49
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Has anyone got this to work, when I try to run the exe file (through RDC) on my EX495 it says the file is valid but that it was meant for a different kind of computer (or words to that effect). I did download the 64bit version as per the instructions on wegotserved. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:36 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I interprated it to be that Connect was the only location to get the new file from as it was still in beta.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:46 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Thats right, and the 64-Bit version is good for vail but WHS V1 is only 32 bit.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:03 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:53 pm
Posts: 49
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I had downloaded the file from Connect but should have put brain in to gear before hitting download! Now I have the 32bit beta installed, updated and it is running a scan so we'll see how it behaves. Thanks for the immediate assitance and will try to remember to engage brain next time :oops:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:34 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Will MSE close when you log off from the RDC? Does a service has to be created for it to stay open and protect the server?

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 5:21 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2223
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 253 times in 249 posts
I got it, installed just like normal.
I have been using Microsoft Security Essentials and MalwareBytes on all my PC's since WebRoot SpySweeper got so Bloated.
Anyway, It has been scanning for 7 hours so far, not done yet.

I don't know how relistic scanning this much data weekly will be, I still think it's better to scan files on the local PC's before sending them to the server.
But I do think it's nice of Microsoft to do something good for free. :-k

Thanks much for the info. :mss:

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 5:25 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 4:23 pm
Posts: 90
Location: Central TX
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
This needs to go into a plug-in so that we get notified when it finds something... otherwise you'd have to check it's own console every so often.

It's an opportunity for somebody to get creative here...!

_________________
JW


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:49 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:04 am
Posts: 20
Location: Danville, CA
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ewww! ewww! I am feeling squeamish.

This newbie needs a dialog box that says "Click NEXT> to begin installing this software perfectly on your server, you pathetic pile of ineptitude."

Is installing Security Essentials on my new EX490 going to be like brain surgery? Should I stay clear for a month or two until a user-friendly interface is developed?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:09 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 372
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 12 times in 8 posts
Just installed on my server. MSSE is OK for the price, but I've seen where it gets disabled pretty easily by crapware. I've been using MSSE on my XP and Vista systems since it was in Beta. I have to admit, I still like the Windows Live One Care solution BETTER, and still can't figure out why MS dumped it (a paid product) for a free one, MSSE.

My One Care substription runs out pretty soon my last desktop I had it installed on, so I'll have to do something with it soon.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:13 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 372
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 12 times in 8 posts
Brian A wrote:
ewww! ewww! I am feeling squeamish.

This newbie needs a dialog box that says "Click NEXT> to begin installing this software perfectly on your server, you pathetic pile of ineptitude."

Is installing Security Essentials on my new EX490 going to be like brain surgery? Should I stay clear for a month or two until a user-friendly interface is developed?


Just download the 32-bit beta, and copy it to your shares somewhere. Remote desktop into your WHS, and copy the install file to your WHS desktop. Double click to install. Easy! 8)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Mach1 for this post
Brian A
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:46 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I agree One care was a good product when it worked. when there was an issue it was a nightmare. There were feature that I loved about it. could shedule scans, remove start up items, and the firewall was really straight forward. Made setting it up on my parents machine very nice because I could do routine maintenace with out them caring.

As for MSE, I havent had any issue at all. I read that it was one of the better virus scanners out there. Easy and secure that is what people like. As for why they changed direction who knows. Microsoft has a history of giving up on making money just before a product really takes off. I assume that with the collassal flop that vista was to their rep. Microsoft decided to give this out gain some good public image.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:08 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:04 am
Posts: 20
Location: Danville, CA
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Mach1 wrote:
...Just download the 32-bit beta, and copy it to your shares somewhere. Remote desktop into your WHS, and copy the install file to your WHS desktop. Double click to install. ....Easy!
I upgraded my EX490 System Drive to a 2TB Black Caviar this evening and successfully completed the "Factory Reset". (I thereby promote myself from noob to beginner.) However, I still have no idea what you are talking about. Is there a link describing "WHS desktop", "Remote desktop" etc, etc, etc?? McAfee bloatware wants to install! Don't know how to remove. I can't believe you guys have figured this all out.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:13 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
Brian A wrote:
Mach1 wrote:
...Just download the 32-bit beta, and copy it to your shares somewhere. Remote desktop into your WHS, and copy the install file to your WHS desktop. Double click to install. ....Easy!
I upgraded my EX490 System Drive to a 2TB Black Caviar this evening and successfully completed the "Factory Reset". (I thereby promote myself from noob to beginner.) However, I still have no idea what you are talking about. Is there a link describing "WHS desktop", "Remote desktop" etc, etc, etc?? McAfee bloatware wants to install! Don't know how to remove. I can't believe you guys have figured this all out.


If your using Windows 7, click on Start and type Remote Desktop Connection, a list should popup, click on the Remote Desktop Connection link, a windows will open, type in the name of your server and continue.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Diehard for this post
Brian A
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:20 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10731
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 626
Thanked: 929 times in 884 posts
Brian A, we have several tutorials on the Wiki that describe exactly what you are asking, you can start here.
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/wiki/in ... the_server

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group