It is currently Fri May 29, 2020 1:44 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:14 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I am now downloading PP3 via Windows Update in my WHS.

Uninstalled PP3 beta earlier this morning.

Install now complete and the connector is being upgraded.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:43 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:27 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Central PA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I updated mine from PP2 via my Win 7 - Ultimate client and I did receive a brief pop up regarding a newer version of the connector was available, however I didn't see it actually get installed. How would I know if I have the current connector and/or updgrade it to the latest on my Win 7 client, if necessary??

_________________
1 HP-MSS (EX475)
1 Dell Studio XPS - Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (Core i7 & Dual NICs)
1 Dell Studio XPS 13 - Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (Core 2 Duo)
2 WinXP Pro PC's
6 Tivo's
2 AppleTV's

Gigabit Network (24 Node)
VZ FIOS TV & Data (25/15)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:51 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
MSSDog wrote:
How would I know if I have the current connector and/or updgrade it to the latest on my Win 7 client, if necessary??


The easy way is to check the Libraries. The upgraded connector adds links in the Music, Photos & Videos libraries.

If you want to look at the file verison of the connector, WHSConsoleClient.exe is now running with version 6.0.2423.0 It's located in the C:\Program Files\Windows Home Server folder


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:56 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Phil Churchill posted this earlier this morning expecting many will wonder how they can tell if PP3 has been installed.

http://mswhs.com/2009/11/24/how-to-know-when-power-pack-3-is-installed/

Thanks Phil !


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:36 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:27 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Central PA
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
tojofi wrote:
MSSDog wrote:
How would I know if I have the current connector and/or updgrade it to the latest on my Win 7 client, if necessary??


The easy way is to check the Libraries. The upgraded connector adds links in the Music, Photos & Videos libraries.

If you want to look at the file verison of the connector, WHSConsoleClient.exe is now running with version 6.0.2423.0 It's located in the C:\Program Files\Windows Home Server folder


I subsequently manually installed it and just now verified it is the version you noted above. However, where/how would I navigate to recognize the upgraded connector links for Music, Photo & Video libraries as noted above??

_________________
1 HP-MSS (EX475)
1 Dell Studio XPS - Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (Core i7 & Dual NICs)
1 Dell Studio XPS 13 - Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (Core 2 Duo)
2 WinXP Pro PC's
6 Tivo's
2 AppleTV's

Gigabit Network (24 Node)
VZ FIOS TV & Data (25/15)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:44 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
tojofi wrote:
Phil Churchill posted this earlier this morning expecting many will wonder how they can tell if PP3 has been installed.

http://mswhs.com/2009/11/24/how-to-know-when-power-pack-3-is-installed/

Thanks Phil !


Seems similar to our Wiki entry :mss:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/wiki/in ... _Server%3F

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:51 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Simply start Windows Explorer and open the Libraries folder and then open each of the Music, Photo & Video libraries. There should be a new 'location' added to each library >> ex: "Music (\\<yourserver>)".

If the connector did not add them, they're easy enough to add manually (if you want them). Simply open the Music library adn click on the link labeled "Add location". Navigate to the share you want to add and voila your library has been updated to include the sahre on your server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank tojofi for this post
MSSDog
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:53 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Cougar wrote:


Hmmmmm. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:39 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
I just must be missing something. On my system there is no connector update and I have had Music, Photos and Videos from the server in my libraries on my windows 7 machine. I never installed the pre-rel beta PP3.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
I'll amend that, I got updated on 10/07/09 as my connector software is PP3 level already there was no update. So, Microsoft made that available early and I apparently picked it up when I did a server recovery on 11/01/09. Same must go for the Libraries because they have shown for a good month like that. Strange happenings!!!

I'm sorry it was 10/7/09 not 11/07/09!!!!

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Last edited by erail on Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:02 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Maryland
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
My PP3 update with smoothly. I also got a few other MS updates along with PP3. Since I now have PP3, I am in the middle (around 2 hours sofar) of upgrading to Win 7 on my Vista/32 machine.

Just a normal Update Tuesday from Microsoft.

_________________
-------------
EX470 + 2 - 2TB WD & 2 - 1TB WD (6.0TB total), 2 GB memory, LE-1640 CPU
PC1: HP Laptop w/ WIN 7/32 Home Premium
PC2: HP Laptop w/ Vista/64 Home Premium SP1
PC3: Dell Desktop w/ Win XP Home SP3
HP Mediasmart Connect n280x
Linksys WRT54G


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
Anyone have issues with x64?

My wife's W7 x64 machine does not show that a connector upgrade is available. All other PCs in my house (x32) all allowed me to upgrade the connector software the moment PP3 was installed.

Someone else I know is having the same issue with his x64 pc, can you upgrade the connector software manually?

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:31 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
I don't think it's necessary for 64bit machines - I show a 10/7/09 connector update which is the latest level for my machine.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:39 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Maryland
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
At first, my Vista/64 machine would not connect to my MSS after PP3 was installed. Once I rebooted my Vista/64 PC everything has worked great.

_________________
-------------
EX470 + 2 - 2TB WD & 2 - 1TB WD (6.0TB total), 2 GB memory, LE-1640 CPU
PC1: HP Laptop w/ WIN 7/32 Home Premium
PC2: HP Laptop w/ Vista/64 Home Premium SP1
PC3: Dell Desktop w/ Win XP Home SP3
HP Mediasmart Connect n280x
Linksys WRT54G


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: PP3 on-line
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:41 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
rhbeall wrote:
At first, my Vista/64 machine would not connect to my MSS after PP3 was installed. Once I rebooted my Vista/64 PC everything has worked great.


Yeah, that sounds right. I had actually rebooted my wifes PC which is why I had no problems, but someone else I am talking to cannot connect voa x64 (I told him to reboot so hopefully that clears up the problem).

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group