It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:20 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:16 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi, I'm sure it's been asked before but I didn't have any luck in my searches.

I've finally just added two 1TB drives to my system, I'd now like to try and move my files off of the original 500GB drive and then add duplication. Is this possible and if so how?

I did find the "Drive Balancer" but to be honest I wasn't too sure it was going to do what I wanted (or which options to select to move everything off the original primary drive).

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Many thanks in advance, Ben.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:18 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Orange County, CA
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 14 times in 13 posts
BenVic wrote:
Hi, I'm sure it's been asked before but I didn't have any luck in my searches.

I've finally just added two 1TB drives to my system, I'd now like to try and move my files off of the original 500GB drive and then add duplication. Is this possible and if so how?

I did find the "Drive Balancer" but to be honest I wasn't too sure it was going to do what I wanted (or which options to select to move everything off the original primary drive).

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Many thanks in advance, Ben.


Not sure what you are wanting to do? are you wanting to get rid of the 500 and replace it with the 2 1tb's?

What files are you trying to move? More info would help for a better answer.

_________________
If you only have 1 copy of a file you do not have a copy! Back-up off site!!!
If someone wrote a particularly helpful post? Use the "Thank Post" button!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:36 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I would like it so that no files are stored on the 500gb drive and they all went to my new drives instead. I figured that if I do that and the 500gb died I could then simply replace the system drive and everything would be ok.

I'm probably wrong in that assumption though?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:03 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
As long as you have duplication enabled for all your shares, you can always replace the system drive and your data should remain intact. The system drive is no different from any other drive in a WHS, besides the fact that it contains the OS. Drive Balancer is likely your best bet, but I've not personally used it so can't comment.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:50 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for the info...

So should the system drive ever fail I can simply put a new drive in, set it up as the system drive and it'll read in my existing drives with all the data (and not need to format the storage disks).

Guess I'm being paranoid, strange as I've had it was just 500gb for sometime now!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:40 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
BenVic wrote:
Hi, I'm sure it's been asked before but I didn't have any luck in my searches.

I've finally just added two 1TB drives to my system, I'd now like to try and move my files off of the original 500GB drive and then add duplication. Is this possible and if so how?

I did find the "Drive Balancer" but to be honest I wasn't too sure it was going to do what I wanted (or which options to select to move everything off the original primary drive).

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Many thanks in advance, Ben.


Use the Drive Balancer program. You'll have to run it from the WHS desktop via an RDP session. You will want to select the option to clean off the system drive. Drive Balancer will fill up the system drive with empty files and then WHS will move the files off of the system drive onto the other two new drives. You can turn on duplication for the relevant shares before or after, but if you don't have the data duplicated now, I'd wait and turn duplication on after you've moved the data off of the system drive.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group