It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:01 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:29 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:30 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Yeah I know that this is may seem silly but I am looking to buy the EX485 for the better hardware and faster processor and am willing to use the existing drives from my EX470. If this works I am expecting that I would just pull the drive from teh 470 and place it in the EX485 and reboot.

Can anyone tell me if this is possible and will work? I can then give my old EX470 to a friend and not have to reset it and he gets a bigger 750 drive.

Rich


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:42 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
Nope, that won't work. There's a very slim chance that you could install your old drives into the new server, immediately perform a Server Recovery using the new EX48x recovery disk, and end up with a functioning system. Please note that I have NOT tested this and am merely theorizing. If you try it please back up your data first, and then let us know if it works. :)

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
richone52
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:54 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:30 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
yakuza wrote:
Nope, that won't work. There's a very slim chance that you could install your old drives into the new server, immediately perform a Server Recovery using the new EX48x recovery disk, and end up with a functioning system. Please note that I have NOT tested this and am merely theorizing. If you try it please back up your data first, and then let us know if it works. :)



Thanks! What would you suggest to get the data over as the best way. I wont worry about the backups as much as I also just built some new computers.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:04 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
You could use the procedure outlined in viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3261 , either saving it all or editing it to eliminate the portion that saves the backups.

After saving the data I would DEFINITELY try to install the disks in the new server and execute the Server Recovery (NOT Factory Reset). Since both servers use the same WHS I suspect that will work fine. While I do not know anyone having done it from an EX47x to an EX48x I do know it has been done between a EX47x and a "home brew" (DIY) unit. Unlike Alex I will be very surprised if it fails...

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:15 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
So I should clarify what I said earlier. I don't expect this would cause a problem from the WHS perspective, in fact I agree with John that it would likely work quite well or I wouldn't have suggested it. The concern I have and the reason I encourage caution is that HP does some specific things to backup and restore their settings, registry keys, ini file, etc, that could conflict between the two server versions, and since I haven't tried it (yet) I do not know exactly what will happen in the restore scenario.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:13 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
richone52: Please let us know what your results were!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:30 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Well guys

I chickened out and just moved the data to some hard drives I had free. I agree that it should ahve worked but I decided that it was best to just do it the old fashioned way.

Rich


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:24 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
You should have tried it after you backed up your data to the other drives. :D

Dammit, I'm going to have to try this one of these days to see how well it works...

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:28 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
I just pulled the data drives from my MSS EX475 and put them in a DIY test system. Came up like a charm. Checked it out briefly and put the drives back in the MSS. No issues.

FYI, I only defined one user and no Add-Ins on the DIY system. The MSS was shut down beforehand and not powered on again until the disks were replaced so there were no hot-swaps.

I really do believe the "system" and the "data" are separate for these purposes, Alex, and I look forward to your test results!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group