It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:00 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 235 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 16  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:17 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
I was inspired to start this by sguth925m posting pics of his network in another thread.

Let's have pictures of the MSS in your home or office. Is it in the laundry room? Your office? The closet? On your nightstand? :lol: Feel free to describe your network topology, too.

In my case, it's on my equipment rack in my home theater room. I've got cable modem going to Linksys WRT54G router running DD-WRT. That goes to a Netgear gigabit switch that feeds two PCs in the home office, a HP MediaVault, and an HP network printer. Off of that runs a cable to the home theater that feeds another Netgear gigabit switch that feeds the Xbox360, MediaSmart Server, and a DMA.

Image
Image

If you don't have a way to host your pictures, send me a PM and I'll give you my email and I'll host them for you.

Alex


Last edited by yakuza on Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:20 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:31 pm
Posts: 96
Location: San Diego, California
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
My network consists of a Linksys CM 100 Cable Modem. ISP is Cox, and I have a 12 mbps connection. The modem is connected to a Linksys RVS 4000 gigabit router. For my wireless needs I have a D-Link DI-624 running as an access point, which is hooked up to a Hawking signal booster. I outfitted my entire house with CAT 6e cable and the runs are all plugged into a D-Link 8-port 10/100/1000 Desktop Switch.

Of course I have my MP MediaSmart Server. I also have a Mirra Server, which I am using right now to also back up my photos. (have about 4000 all in RAW format) Also attached to the network is a D-link DNS-323 NAS with 2 1tb drives in a RAID 1 configuration.

My servers, modem, routers and switch are connected to a APC BACK-UPS 900VA.

Almost forgot...I also have a D-Link DSM-300 wireless media player (going to swap it out for the DSM-750 when it becomes available).

All of my network is centrally located in my house in the hall closet. Just checked the temp in there...90 degrees. Got to work on that next.

P.S. Alex is hosting Sunday and Monday Night football on that rather large screen...BYOB

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:43 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hey Alex,

I noticed you have a projection system.

I have one set up for my xbox console as well. ;)

- Will


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:52 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
Hi Will,

In fact, that's the only TV in our house. :) I built the 92" screen out of a product called Do-Able, it's documented completely on AVSforum. My next major purchase will likely be a 720p (or better) projector to replace the Infocus 4805 I currently have.

Maybe we need to start a gamertag thread. :)

Alex


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
GGHTPC
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:56 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:50 am
Posts: 344
Location: Cartersville, Ga
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Cool. I'd like to do a projection but I can't get the room dark enough during the day. :/

I'll take some pics of my setup and post later.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:01 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:59 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Nice setup! How do you rate the noise level?

I would have thought people would distance it from the theater because of the fan and drive noise...

Nice Onyx Rockets, by the way!! 750s with Risers?

yakuza wrote:
I was inspired to start this by sguth925m posting pics of his network in another thread.

Let's have pictures of the MSS in your home or office. Is it in the laundry room? Your office? The closet? On your nightstand? :lol: Feel free to describe your network topology, too.

In my case, it's on my equipment rack in my home theater room. I've got cable modem going to Linksys WRT54G router running DD-WRT. That goes to a Netgear gigabit switch that feeds two PCs in the home office, a HP MediaVault, and an HP network printer. Off of that runs a cable to the home theater that feeds another Netgear gigabit switch that feeds the Xbox360, MediaSmart Server, and a DMA.

Image
Image

If you don't have a way to host your pictures, send me a PM and I'll give you my email and I'll host them for you.

Alex


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:09 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:57 pm
Posts: 86
Location: San Francisco, CA
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
typeshige wrote:
Nice setup! How do you rate the noise level?

I would have thought people would distance it from the theater because of the fan and drive noise...



Noise? While I can't speak for Yakuza, As the proud owner of a Xbox360 I doubt that the HP MSS is any louder than even a new "falcon" 360. When my launch 360 turns on it sounds like a car at idle and when that drive spins up it sound like a jet engine. Lucky I have a decent sound system...

Nice setup though Alex!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:46 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
typeshige wrote:
Nice setup! How do you rate the noise level?

I would have thought people would distance it from the theater because of the fan and drive noise...

Nice Onyx Rockets, by the way!! 750s with Risers?


Thanks guys! They're actually 550's on risers, I still lust after the 760's a bit, but now that I've got a good sounding system I've managed to avoid the upgrade-itis to bad. :)

The noise is definitely noticeable when nothing else is running, however my project is pretty much over my head and behind me, and it's the loudest thing in the room so I don't mind it too much. I think it's the power supply fan that makes the most noise, and it's not actually that loud, more of the tone of the fan that makes it noisy at all. The 360 spinning a disc is definitely louder than the server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:48 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:52 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Here is mine :)

Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:56 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
Looks great, KoL!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 5:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:52 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
Looks great, KoL!
'
Thanks man, yours looks great too :)

_________________
StudioTwentyEight


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:06 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:11 am
Posts: 3
Location: So Cal
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Here's my setup in my office. I got my MSS with CFI SATA port multiplier enclosure. I've got cable modem with Charter, going to Dlink Dir-655 router and from there to my Dlink gigabit hub. This feeds two PCs, work Laptop, HP tc1100 tablet and MSS in my office, Netgear gigabit hub and Vista media center in my living room and my wife's laptop. My house is wired with Cat 6. The only thing using WiFi is my tablet (802.11b :cry: WHS only backs up my MS Onenote files) and my wife's laptop which has 802.11n card.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:28 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Ontario, Canada
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Isn't it weird how you have a little desk, it gets cluttered, so you say "I should get a bigger desk, that will help with the clutter". Get the bigger desk, and you just get more clutter -.-


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 5:13 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 5:30 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Turbocharged!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:29 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 86
Location: the beaches, USA
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
See image #4 at http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/custom ... ll#gallery


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 235 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 16  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group