It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:02 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 1:28 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:30 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
What happens to the backups when you rename a PC? Does it see it as a new PC and show it as separate from the old backups on the server? What happens if you use the same name on a new computer?

Scott


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:48 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
That is a good question with win 10 upgrade, I have noticed it renames the PC and I have wondered if that would cause a problem.
I have upgraded a laptop to win 10 but it was not on the server so I can't answer this question.

Someone has had to of tried it and knows. I would think if you changed the pc name and reinstalled the connector it would see it as a new pc. But just a guess.

I am avoiding win10 till win7 is eol.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:53 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:30 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
My Windows 10 upgrades didn't rename the PC's (5 of them)? But I wanted to get to a consistent naming convention (KymLT, KymDT, KymTablet) and was wondering if backup was keying off the name of the PC or something else (SID?).

Scott


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 6:14 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I just logged into the console and it looks like the backups are by PC name.
If all your pc are running fine and you could start over with uninstalling them all, deleting the backups, renaming all the pc then reinstalling the connector and starting new backups would be my guess. But only a guess.

I started renaming my pc's as I added them about half way through, it would have been nice if I thought of it sooner.
I might do it anyway as I don't really count on the backups as all the data is kept on the server.

If you do anything, let us know how it went..

Sorry I couldn't be more help...

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 9:28 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1303
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 170 times in 168 posts
Backups are by pc name but the backups are retained unless you manually delete them.
So if you rename your pc from pc1 to pc2, You need to configure backups for the new named pc2 but pc1 backups are still usable. Till such time you manually delete computer.
The same rule holds true as if the old computer was turned off,it is greyed out but still accessible.
Also even if the pc has the same name as if say installing a new os system.
You will most likely see duplicate pc names.
One greyed out with the original backups and one active with the new os installed on the pc.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group