It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: System Transplant?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 6:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 7:47 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
My EX470 lost its NIC. I thought about the VGA adapter (selling on ebay) but I already know the box is working even though I can't remote to it. She turns on for several hours a couple times a day - an energy saving add-in from a few years ago. So I wondered if I can move the machine's software into another machine.

Is it possible to transfer the four HDDs in my EX470 into a 4-bay rackmount server?

Has anyone tried this and if so, what issues arose from such a transplant?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: System Transplant?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:41 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2133
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
The problem is the WHS v1 that is installed on your 470 is licensed/registered to the Bios in that microserver (Hardware)
Even if it could be done (they say anything is possible, but I doubt it) windows server 2003 which is under WHS v1 would throw a fit about licensing/registration.

The closest you can get IMHO would be another 470 that has a working nic and even then you will most likely (I believe) have to do a server recovery "not reset" with the same CD's that were used on the first 470.
If you try this, remember that the bottom drive is the OS drive so you would want to mark it somehow and always has to be in a bottom bay, the other drives can be in any bay.

Other then that, you can pull the drives, one at a time, place them in a usb to sata dock or into an opened desktop and access the files directly to get a copy of them to move to your next solution.
Sorry and good luck

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: System Transplant?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:30 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1063
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
All you need to do is say buy 1 or two extra drives depending on the new server requirements.
Place them in the new server.
Then one at a time connect the old drives to your desktop and copy the files over to the new server.
You will need to enable view hidden files and folders on the desktop to see the data to copy.
If you already have duplication turned on you can elect to turn it off and wait a few days or just ignore the prompts on the new server that the file already exists.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: System Transplant?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:04 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2133
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
That is one of the best things about WHS, you can always pull a drive and get to the contents if needed anytime.
With most NAS you can not say that, if the hardware breaks down with a NAS, then you have to get replacement hardware to even have a chance at getting your data back.
If you do pickup another mediasmart I would suggest get something newer like the ex-490 or even a x-510. The ex-470 was nice, but the newer models are better, also IMHO don't get the 480/5/7 models, they had there own issues.
EX-490 with the cd's and you would be good to go for awhile. I have even installed win2012E on a x-510 and it worked fine, but ended up building something new for it.

But now days with WD coming out with these 6-8-10tb network drives it's tempting to go down that road as well.
Just depends on what your needs are.

Microsoft thinks we all just need to move everything to the cloud where they can keep an eye on it for us, [-X but most of us are smarter then that. :rofl:
Good Luck and let us know which way you went, lots of other people are in the same boat, where to go next.....

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group