DataCore Releases DriveHarmony Beta

by Alex Kuretz on June 1, 2011 · 2 comments

in News

DataCore has just released a beta version of their DriveHarmony software that is meant to be a replacement for the Drive Extender feature that Microsoft removed from Windows Home Server 2011.

Be sure to read the release notes carefully as it does contain some important warnings, specifically that the beta will expire after 30 days at which point you will no longer be able to access your data, and that there will be no way to convert from this beta to the final version of DriveHarmony.

There is extensive documentation here that is certainly worth a read even if you don’t try the beta.

We are downloading the Beta now and will be sharing our impressions after spending some time with the new software.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The DataCore™ DriveHarmony™ software you are about to download is a beta, pre-general release, version that WILL EXPIRE IN 30 DAYS.

This 30-day pre-release version of the software is to be used IN A NON-PRODUCTION ENVIRONMENT only for your own familiarization with the software and is not upgradeable to a permanent license. ALL DATA STORED USING THE SOFTWARE WILL BE LOST OR IRRETRIEVABLE UPON EXPIRATION OF THE 30 DAY PERIOD . Assistance during the beta period will be provided through the DataCore DriveHarmony Feedback Forum.

Article by

I'm Alex Kuretz, and I'm the founder of I was the Lead Test and Integration Engineer at HP for the MediaSmart Server until April 2008 when I moved on to other opportunities outside HP. I've kept active in the Windows Home Server community, creating several add-ins and helping users make the most of their Home Servers.


Schliemann June 2, 2011 at 6:14 am

I had it running briefly but since it took up 2 GB RAM I uninstalled it again.

Carlos Carreras June 4, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Please refer to the DriveHarmony forum at, memory utilization is a known issue, the cache is intended to be limited to 256MB.

Comments are closed, visit the forums to continue the discussion.

Previous post:

Next post: